How do you identify Dual-CPU PowerMac G4's from Single-CPU models?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LOLZpersonok, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    I want to get one as a secondary computer, but I want to be sure mine can accommodate and utilize two physical CPU's for added performance.

    How do I tell if it has Dual-CPU capabilities, and if it does, what is the most powerful CPU's I can install in each socket? I'd need to know what brand and where I can purchase them too.
     
  2. LeoTheLion89 macrumors 6502

    LeoTheLion89

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #2
    the most powerful G4s are indeed the Mirror Drive Doors (MDD) G4s that last models came with Dual 1.42GHz (i think dual someone correct me if wrong) that is a total of 2.84GHz of processing power all MDD models support Dual CPUs so it dont make much of a difference if u buy it with a Single or Dual CPU as u can upgrade them later however i cant find any above 1.25GHz. The Brand would be from Apple best place to look is eBay theres a few on sale (Processors) now also plenly of MDD Macs as well.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Any G4 that is a Gigabit Ethernet or newer model can support a dual core G4. This includes the G4 Cube. Some Sawtooth models can support dual core G4's, but you'll have to run a program on them to check their board revision first. Nothing older than a Sawtooth can support dual G4's.

    The fastest G4 upgrade would be the dual 1.8Ghz 7448 G4. I think both Sonnet and PowerLogix made one. But they are very rare and go for about $600, used.
     
  4. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    Please start your research on this site.

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/index-powermac-g4.html
     
  5. LeoTheLion89 macrumors 6502

    LeoTheLion89

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #5
    the Cube huh? ive never seen a CPU upgrade for a cube nor ever heard of one although i never cared to look into it either.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Yep. They upgrade well. I've got a 1.5Ghz in mine and it's made a big difference over the 450Mhz stock G4. Electronically, Cube's are just like Gigabit Ethernet PowerMacs.
     
  7. LeoTheLion89 macrumors 6502

    LeoTheLion89

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #7
    so it takes the same CPU card?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    It can, but it isn't recommended. Cube G4's are slightly different, but I forget how.
     
  9. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #9
    Cool, Thanks for the response. If you hadn't responded with this information, I'd probably skip out on the $65 one I found, which I now realize is a MDD model. I'd better buy it quick!
     
  10. LeoTheLion89 macrumors 6502

    LeoTheLion89

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #10
    you're welcome! Glad I could help.
     
  11. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #11
    No. That is not how it works. The dual processors are not like dual-core machines. I have a DP 800Mhz QS and it certainly doesn't run at "1.6Ghz". Only really applications that utilize any sort of dual-processor programming are able to access both. They don't work in tandem.
     
  12. SuperJudge macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #12
    Precisely.

    Now, in a multithreaded OS, like Mac OS X, you do see performance gains from dual processors, but as a rule it's more like 70-75% of the combined clockspeed. Of course, that doesn't apply to single threaded apps, only to overall performance.
     
  13. Bug-Creator macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    At that price I'd rather look out for a used QuickSilver (or older) with such a card allready installed.

    Got mine (with 2x1.8GHz Sonnet) for 150Euro and the same guy also had one with a 1x1.8GHz on sale (funny that auction ended 15Euro higher). At the same time there was a 1.8GHz Cube wich ended at somewhere around 190Euro.

    One should also remember that in everyday use 1x1.8GHz might actually be faster than 2x1GHz.
     

Share This Page