How do you install the "digital copy" of a Blu-Ray to a Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by SRLMJ23, Feb 5, 2012.

1. SRLMJ23 macrumors 65816

SRLMJ23

In Windows a window pops up and gives you the option to install, when I put the disk in my SuperDrive I get no pop-up window or anything, it just puts the CD with the name of the movie on the desktop. I tried it with Dark Knight and Avatar. Please, someone help me. I'm new to the Mac.

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Is this an iTunes Digital Copy or "Ultraviolet" digital copy.

B

3. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

SRLMJ23

It just says it can be installed on a PC & Mac, it's a separate disk to the actual blu-ray cd. So I don't think it's an ultraviolet version as there is no ultraviolet marketing anywhere on the disk or packaging.

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Then usually it is just copy the file on the DVD to iTunes and use the redemption code from inside the box to activate it.

B

5. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

SRLMJ23

Sorry for being so noobish, so I should install the cd and when the cd shows up on desktop drag it to iTunes, should iTunes be open or closed, or am I way off here.

6. 0dev macrumors 68040

0dev

Just pop the normal DVD in your Mac and use Handbreak to rip it.

7. zflauaus macrumors 65816

Except if I read correctly, it's just a Blu ray and then the digital copy disc.

OP: Pop the disc in, open iTunes and it should show up in the sidebar. From there, you'll have to enter in the redemption code from the slip inside the container.

What is the movie anyway?

8. 0dev macrumors 68040

0dev

Usually when I get those Blu-rays that come with digital downloads, they're "triple play" and come with a Blu-ray, DVD, and a code you can enter into some software to download a digital copy. The best way to get a digital copy is to just rip the DVD and avoid DRM.

9. darster Suspended