How do you make YouTube always play at 720?

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by piatti, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    It's very annoying to keep changing the resolution to 720. I think they used to have this option but now they only have the option to play HD only when the video is full sized.
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    You won't notice any improvement until you full-screen it anyway. The default window size for YouTube is 360 pixels in height, so 360p will look just fine.

    YouTube obviously disabled that option because it's a waste of bandwidth viewing 720p videos in a 360p window.
     
  3. Suno macrumors 6502

    Suno

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    #3
    There's no setting to always play the highest quality video, only an option that automatically chooses the best setting based on your player size. Alternatively, there's an option that always chooses HD automatically when you go fullscreen.
     
  4. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    But I do notice improvement without making it larger. Is there some sort of programming hack to get around this? I wish I knew programming to do things like this but don't know how to get started
     
  5. Ddyracer macrumors 68000

    Ddyracer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    YouTube wide, has the ability to play YouTube vids in the pop out view on default. But it will only be 480p. Try out clicktoflash. It has the option to load YouTube videos in default 1080p in HTML5. I don't think it will work with flash as your player though.
     
  6. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I installed the clicktoflash but don't know how to use it.
     
  7. D A macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #7
  8. Ddyracer macrumors 68000

    Ddyracer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #8
    Go to your safari prefs, and you should see something like the first image.

    then select the second checkbox.

    After you select that, you should get something like the second image.

    Next,
    click on media player, then select HTML5. Put whatever resolution you want. You can also change the quality, and convert back to flash by hovering your mouse in the upper left corner of any video.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. clark85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #9
    Is there actually any way to choose the resolution playing on your iPhone?
     
  10. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Ddyracer, does this work only with Safari? If so, I would like to make this possible for Firefox and Chrome, does anyone know how?

    Never mind I saw someone already told me how
     
  11. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #11
  12. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Could you teach me how to install it on Firefox? I installed both the Greasemonkey and the YousableTubeFix but when I open them it shows a code instead being installed on FireFox and the YTF is being opened with Word except it says it's corrupted.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. murrzeak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
  14. dune17856 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    #14
    Hi, just wanted to comment that the p in 720p does not stand for Pixels. It's progressive scan rate. Regardless of window size a better scan rate gives a sharper picture.
     
  15. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #15
    You should re-read what I wrote. I'm talking about the number of pixels being used, not the scan rate. 360p/720p both clearly progressive so I though it was obvious what I was talking about...
     
  16. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #16
    a waste of who's bandwidth ? Google wants quality but they don't want to fit the bill ? its detail regardless right ?

    These days we all want high quality by default. but are picky where we see it ? Which is it ?
     

Share This Page