How do you manage your photo storage / archival?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by BJB Productions, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. BJB Productions macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #1
    Hello everyone - I run a couple photography brands and I'm getting to the point where I need to rethink my archival situation. Currently, I'm purchasing drives and storing them onsite / offsite. This has become rather cumbersome, and I know there must be a better way. From previous conversations I've had with people, I've been presented with two options:

    1) Home NAS (this would still need a backup solution)

    2) Backblaze B2 or similar service (the only thing is I don't like paying to download my data)

    What I would like:
    It's 2017. I'd like the ability to access at least most of my data any time, from any where. I'd like to avoid stacking up hard drives in my closet if possible...

    Thoughts?
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Good high availability solutions are like layers in an onion:

    Local RAID drives for libraries
    local RAID drives for backup
    offsite backup drives rotated every week to month (depending on business case)
    Online backup (first backup could take days, that is why some companies might as for you to send a disk and then do incremental backups


    As an amateur retired photographer, I only do the first two. There is no revenue attached the to library.
     
  3. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    A NAS connected to the internet will solve it,and for extra backup,any external drive with enough storage would work.
     
  4. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #4
    After sleeping on it, I'm thinking of maybe doing a Sinology NAS, then using B2 for archival of things I don't need access to nearly as often. My main concern is having a backup offsite or in the cloud in case of fire, etc.

    I estimate I have about 7-8TB of media currently.
     
  5. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    One or more external drives stored somewhere where it's safe would do.
     
  6. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #6
    I agree with the comments here. Use a Synology NAS setupfor 99% of the time then have two backup disks for it.

    It.will take the back up for you to the disk then rotate them by taking one to work. Then each week bring the one from home to work and the one from work home an repeat. Good enough for non commercial use.
     
  7. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #7
    Makes sense. It's just a bit of a hassle. The only nice thing about B2 or a similar service is that you don't have to worry about your data.....I suppose that's why you pay for the service.
     
  8. djbahdow01, Jul 1, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017

    djbahdow01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Northeast, CT
    #8
    I have had a Synology system for around 4 years now. Love it. Currently running the DS-412+ with 2x5TB and 2x8TB drives. Upgraded from 2x3TB with the 2x8TB. So current usable space is 16.2TB. The DSM OS is very easy to use, and on my network I can connect with any of my machines as well as from the road when needed.

    It is a great archive tool.

    My current system has my 2008 Mac Pro with a 750GB SSD main drive, 2x3TB Storage (Working Photo drive/and backup), 2TB multimedia (music and video) and a 120GB SSD scratch drive. I have my current year work on the Working drive/backup, and all my works on the Synology. I uses chronosync to sync the working drive to the backup 3TB every night so just in case I make a mistake on the main drive. Then chronosync the working drive to the synology every week. From the synology I back up to amazon drive. So I have a web based backup as well. Will be changing the web based backup with the Amazon drive unlimited storage change. Probably pick up another Synology and leave it off site at my inlaws or somewhere else.

    With the advent of the 2017 Macbook Pro I will be changing my ways a little bit. Looking for a decent 4+ bay Raid system USB C or Thunderbolt 3. But as of right now the selection is minimal... Really want to see the OWC but they aren't quite ready yet!
     
  9. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #9
    Thanks. This was super good for me to hear, mostly because we seem to have a similar set up. I'm wondering if at this point I should just wait it out a little longer and get something with USB C. I'll probably be getting a Mac with USB C within a year or so.
     
  10. djbahdow01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Northeast, CT
    #10

    Not much out there yet unfortunately at least in a multibay. Seen a lot of 2 bay but that doesn't do what I want/need. Hopefully in the next few months, know OWC has a 6bay TB3 RAID system planned. Was looking at the Glyph Studio 4 RAID but they don't have a TB3/USB C yet. Trying to get by with what I have going right now until it comes out.
     
  11. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #11
    Currently I use an SSD for my working drive and backup. I really like this solution because it's easy for me to carry around from my office > to when I'm on the road. I wonder if we'll see a Synology NAS with USB C?
     
  12. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #12
    If you decide to use online storage be sure to check on the upload rates of your internet provider and the selected service. I have tried a number of services (Crashplan, SOS Backup, Amazon and Google Drives) to backup my ~10 TB of data. My Comcast service upload speed is only 10 mbps which means 97 days at 10 Mbps or 647 at 1.5 Mbps to backup everything. SOS backup seemed to do the initial backup in the shortest period of time.
     
  13. djbahdow01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Northeast, CT
    #13
    Doubtful, I haven't seen them in the DAS business, just NAS. If USB C it will probably be unidirectional, but you never know.

    QNAP did bring out an interesting product, its just very expensive. https://www.qnap.com/en/product/model.php?II=268
     
  14. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #14
    Right - I have a pretty basic Comcast plan. I know they cap upload as well... so it would be slow and steady unless I paid for their Fireball, which is like $600 after shipping...not really worth it for me.

    What I'm debating is using Synology + B2 vs just B2 completely. A combo would save (some) money, but not much. It would avoid more download costs (but those are $0.02/GB). + some storage costs... but eventually it will all end up in the cloud anyway. So in the end, I'm not sure I want to spend the extra $ on hardware?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 1, 2017 ---
    To follow up - I suppose the benefit of a NAS is I can always have it on the network - and not dependent on a computer for uploading. It can constantly push to B2.
     
  15. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #15
    Curious if anyone else has something to add.

    Thank you!
     
  16. Lord of the Pies macrumors newbie

    Lord of the Pies

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Location:
    South Africa
    #16
    Ah, the benefit of not being a pro photographer. Google Photos is the best thing since sliced bread.
     
  17. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #17
    Comcast recently imposed a 1 TB datacap in my area. Since I'm regularly over that (3.5 TB in June) I called them to figure out how to reduce my cost. Turns out I was on an old 150 Mbps plan. I ended up converting to a current 200 Mbps plan with the $50 unlimited data option with a total cost which was identical to my slower, capped plan.
     
  18. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #18
    Nice. I should check that as well. I'm pretty sure I have a 1tb cap.
     
  19. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #19
    Yesterday I gave up the ghost of Uverse with its halting TV channels and max 45 speed due to the old cable pairs in the area. No sign of fiber to the home from ATT. I went with xfinity 150 speed and am currently getting in the 170-180 range. I doubt we will trip the 1 TB data cap.
     
  20. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #20
    Fiber can't come soon enough. Hoping in a couple years we'll have it here.
     
  21. fabianvs macrumors regular

    fabianvs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #21
    Main Windows PC > external hard drives > NAS > synced to amazon drive
     
  22. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #22
    How much data are you storing? Your external hard drives back up to your NAS?
     
  23. fabianvs macrumors regular

    fabianvs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #23
    I have 4TB in raid in my synology NAS. Oops, it's my internals that back up to the NAS/Amazon drive. The externals I just keep stored in a safe place! :)
     
  24. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

    BJB Productions

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #24
    I'm leaning towards just doing a TB SSD Raid for my working drive and then pushing everything to B2 without a Synology.
     
  25. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #25
    Thats the scenario that works for me, but using RAID HDs. No one is building 3TB SSDs and I could not afford a RAID of them if they were available. ;)
     

Share This Page