how do you manage your video clips?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by slug420, Feb 15, 2008.

1. slug420 macrumors regular

I am new to mac and have been eager since before I bought my mac almost a year ago to begin doing some simple video editing with pictures, mp3s and clips from my mini-DV camcorder.

So now I am getting into actually doing it and I am wondering how you guys go about managing your video files. This is a 2-part problem really, first how do you manage the files themselves to keep them organized, sortable, accessible etc - and I have posted another thread in the "mac for beginners" area for that.

I am interested in hearing your advice on how to manage the files but am also posting here for more specific input on how you manage video clips. For example do you keep a spreadsheet tracking what DV tape you imported - what clips you got from that - along with a brief description of what is in each clip? Or do you use comments on the files themselves so you can see the info in finder? Or do you import everything into FCP and then add comments and other info in there?

I am starting by using imovie to import clips from my mini-dv tapes..then dragging those clips to the desktop and renaming them to something that makes sense. For example I have film of a couple concerts I will be working with so the filenames are GorgeN1-1.dv so I know this is the first clip I have from night 1 at the gorge....but beyond that I am not sure what the most effective/efficient way of managing all these clips is.

Thanks for any advice.

2. -DH macrumors 65816

The way iMovie and FCP handles clip organization is very different between the two apps.