How do you migrate your MBA data to the new MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ssb333, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. ssb333 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I will get the new MBA tomorrow; I currently have the previous one. I am wondering how I can transfer the data from the old to the new. I don't have Apple one to one membership and the MBA doesn't have ethernet cables and it's not possible over wireless or through USB. So, any ideas?

    Any tips are appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    If you have wireless, that works.

    If you have Time Machine Back Up, that works also.

    If you have a Ethernet USB for both system, that works.
     
  3. Jobsian macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3
    Haha haven't seen you in a while, same old Ayeying with his terse replies! Are you getting the new MBA?
     
  4. ssb333 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #4
    I spoke to an Apple rep on the phone who said wireless does not work. I do have time machine so, that good to know, but if my current MBA has Snow Leopard and the new MBA will have LION will time machine migration still work?
     
  5. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #5
    Wireless will work, it's just slow
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    Wireless does work. I've tried it before when I had my MBA. It's painfully slow though so I don't recommend it.

    If you have a situation like:

    (Old) MBA w/ Snow Leopard -> Migrating over to -> (New) MBA w/ Lion

    That works. Even the reverse works but you'll run into some small problems depending on what apps you have installed. But upgrading from old to new is fine.

    Yep. I've been hanging out in the MBP section. Nah, I'm not getting it. I thought about it but the Intel HD3000 just killed it. No matter how "okay" or "fast" it is, I still rather prefer a nVidia or ATI dedicated (or even the integrated like the 9400M/320M) card.
     
  7. sillyrabbitt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #7

    can you go from TM Backup from a Macbook to a new MBA?

    thanks
     
  8. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Yes. Unlike Windows, OS X doesn't have those type of limitations. I went from MBA -> MBP.
     
  9. sillyrabbitt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #9
    Does anyone know if its possible to move only portion of the TM backup over?

    Can I go in and just transfer Documents and music per se?

    thanks
     
  10. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #10
    You can. Just plug it in, navigate to the User's Documents Folder and Music Folder and copy using Finder.
     
  11. urkel macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #11
    Well, here's a problem and a pre-problem.

    Problem:
    I sold my MBP and only have the Hard Drive left. Apparently the Air USB ports arent as powerful as the MBP because it requires 2 USB ports to power it (i usually use one). But the Air USB are so far apart I dont have a 2prong USB cable that reaches.

    Pre-Problem:
    My old HDD was 500GB and almost full. Ive never migrated to a smaller drive. Does Migration Assistant help me "trim the fat" and only pick very specifically which files I want? Or am I better off being more space efficient by doing a new user and skipping migration?

    Thanks!
     
  12. sillyrabbitt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #12

    is there a way to move my entire itunes library from my time backup? how do i do that and will it transfer over my 2 ipad backup configurations as well

    thanks
     
  13. Young Turk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    #13
    Plug a USB drive in, select it as the Backup Disk in TimeMachine. Run TimeMachine so it makes a full backup on the USB drive. Then plug the USB drive in your new MBA, run Migration Assistant on it, select Restore from TimeMachine Backup, select the backup from the USB drive and you're set. It would be much faster than restoring from the TimeMachine backup wirelessly.
     
  14. christophermdia macrumors 6502a

    christophermdia

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008

Share This Page