How do you switch between CDMA (Verizon) & GSM on the Verizon iPhone 4S?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by b24pgg, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. b24pgg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I got my Verizon iPhone 4S SIM unlocked yesterday morning. When I put in my foreign SIM in the tray, the phone roams on AT&T successfully; in the Settings -> Carrier menu, when I take it off Automatic I see AT&T, T-Mobile, and another local GSM carrier.

    The problem is that I can't switch back to Verizon without taking the foreign SIM out first and reconnecting to iTunes. The Carrier menu doesn't list Verizon as a option when the foreign SIM is in the phone.

    Is there a way to switch between CDMA and GSM on the phone itself so I can freely switch back and forth between Verizon (CDMA) and my GSM network?
     
  2. b24pgg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    Called Apple today and was told this is not possible, but the rep wasn't very knowledgeable about this so I'm taking it with a grain of salt.

    Basically when a foreign SIM is in the phone, it automatically switches to GSM mode, and I haven't figured out a way to switch back to CDMA unless the SIM is removed again.

    Super annoying.
     
  3. Albitech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I have the same problem. I travel into Mexico several time a week. I have a 3G I use on telcel but I want to consolidate so I need only carry one iPhone. The card works great but I don't want to switch the card out every time I cross. Let me know if you find a solution.
     
  4. davfer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #4
    Same problem, i got an iphone 4s sprint unlocked, and i have to remove the sim card in order to get access to sprint network again
     
  5. airmax922 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    San Leandro
    #5
    you have to remove the forsign sim

    it seems the iphone 4S put the GSM over the CDMA
     

Share This Page