How do you use your iPad for work?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Stealthipad, Apr 17, 2012.

1. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

Stealthipad

Please explain the practicality of using your iPad in a work environment.

Do you use it in the office or in the field?

How does it help you?

What apps are most helpful in getting your job done more efficiently?

I thought this would be informational for people who are not getting the full benefit of their iPads in a work environment.

:apple:

2. Abazigal macrumors 604

Abazigal

Here's how I am currently using it. I am an elementary teacher.

I have the iworks suite, but currently use pages mainly for viewing documents. Keynote occasionally for putting together simple presentations during assembly (frees me up to walk around the stage when paired with my keynote clicker, rather than be stuck off-stage).

I use numbers to create a checklist for keeping track of administrative forms and submission of assignments.

I save softcopies of textbooks/lesson plans to my ipad, which I can view as and when I like, without having to lug tons of loose sheets or heavy books around.

When I want to showcase someone's work in class, I can take a photo with my ipad on the spot, then show it via the interactive whiteboard (using that vga adapter; expensive but worth every cent). Ditto for stuff like newspaper articles and the like.

So far, for me, it is like a clipboard that essentially holds an unlimited number of documents. :p

3. jojoba macrumors 68000

I have used it to go paperless in the office. I do all my note taking on my iPad. It also contains my entire research library and I use it extensively as an e-reader and for PDF annotation. I use it to Skype with colleagues based elsewhere. Typical apps I use are
    Notability
    iAnnotate
    PDF expert
    Dropbox
    Circus Ponies notebook
    Evernote
    Keynote

4. infinitemethod macrumors member