How does AT&T know I got an Iphone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by i8hotdogs, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. i8hotdogs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    Hello - I have been a AT&T customer for for over 10 years. I have swapped out countless phones with my SIM card to new upgraded phones. I just noticed when I checked my online account, it shows that I have an Iphone, so I cannot make any changes to my account. I am required to call AT&T to make any changes to my account. I changed the model on the website to my old phone, but it keeps updating back to the IPhone.

    Before, my online account would show my original phone that I had with my account. Now, it shows that I got an IPhone even though I did not go through AT&T to upgrade my hardware. Does the IPhone send out outbound traffic to AT&T?

    It's no big deal that they know because I have a active account. I just never experienced this before after many hardware changes.
     
  2. hobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #2
    Anything you do goes through AT&T, call-wise.

    Even if you don't send or receive calls or messages, your phone attempts to connect to AT&T towers whenever an AT&T SIM is in. When it connects to a tower, your IMEI is sent with your AT&T info. Your IMEI is part of your phone and only your phone, so AT&T knows what it is.

    It's that simple. I haven't heard of anyone getting disconnected because of it yet though (knock on wood). I have the same situation.
     
  3. Cudadown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #3
    I just have to ask.. Why would you want to hide the fact you have a iPhone from at&t?

    ahh, your edit didnt show until after I posted.
     
  4. Philberttheduck macrumors 6502a

    Philberttheduck

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    HB, CA
    #4
    I would speculate visual voicemail is an iPhone-AT&T exclusive feature so that may play a role. That and the voice plan is different from non-iPhone pricing.
     
  5. i8hotdogs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. It's just weird that my hardware profile never updated on my online account, but now it does with an IPhone. I guess it could be that I never noticed too.

    Thanks
     
  6. i8hotdogs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #6
    There is nothing to hide. I just never expected my online account to update with the new hardware since I don't ever remember it doing this.
     
  7. werkedm3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    You activated it in itunes right...
     
  8. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #8
    I wonder what, if anything, they are doing if you have an iphone that is unlocked and you don't have the "iphone plan". I used my iphone when I first got it with my cingular sim for a while, but when I noticed on the webpage that they knew I was using an iphone, I switched the SIM back to my other phone. (the web page eventually updated to indicate the correct phone)

    Anybody have any "issues" with using a non-activated iphone with AT&T?
     
  9. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #9
    Click the "Not your device?" or whatever beneath the iPhone and change it to what you want AT&T to think you have. They find out you have it because of the IMEI... You could try using ZiPhone to change the IMEI to the IMEI of your other phone but I don't know how that would affect the iPhone.
     
  10. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #10
    If you activated the phone via iTunes, AT&T is notified that you have the phone and adjusts you account accordingly.
     
  11. i8hotdogs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #11
    I never activated my iphone from itunes, jailnreak/anysim.
     
  12. senorFunkyPants macrumors 6502

    senorFunkyPants

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #12
    As already noted, every call made on your mobile is logged by your network and part of the information recorded is the IMEI number of your phone. The first 8 digits of this number contains codes showing who manufactured the phone and its type (ie its an Apple iPhone). Also logged is the sim cards phone number and from this info AT&T know you are using an unregistered iphone on your account.
     
  13. aneftp macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #13
    Don't worry about it. The 2 main reasons people who have ATT and hack the iPhone is because:
    1. They do not wan to extend their contract for 2 years.
    2. They want to maintain their corp. discounts.

    ATT is not going to call you and tell you to go on the iPhone plan vs. the media net (max plans) because att does not lose money.

    Apple is greedy. They might care if people are not on official iPhone plans because they get a cut of the subscription plans.

    So the amount of "non-official" iPhone users on ATT's network is so small right now that Apple just does not worry about it.
     
  14. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    1 in 4 is small???? :eek:
     
  15. beachamt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #15
    i know this is old but i have to say i do have an iphone 2g and they have been trying to add a data plan but i guess i have to personally give them the IMEI number so they havent added it and i never answer the phone when they calls
     
  16. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #16
    trust me

    anytime you pop your sims in a phone it will show up try popping your sims in your friends what ever make a call shortly after AT&T will show that make model. I changed 4-5 models last year AT&T knew everyone
     

Share This Page