How does Coconutbattery work?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by onne2slick, Jun 11, 2010.

1. onne2slick macrumors regular

I'm a new macbook pro (laptop in general) user. I downloaded coconutbattery as someone recommended. I bought my new MBP 4 days ago.

Can somebody tell me how do I read this?
    Current battery charge - 4751 mAh
    Maximum battery charge - 5678 mAh

Current battery capacity - 5678 mAh why did this drop 3 digits within 4 days? is this bad?
    Original battery capacity - 5770 mAh

Battery-loadcycles : 4
    Age of your mac : 2months

How do I read this? What does current battery capacity mean
    How do I read the battery load cycles? How much should I have. What does a cycle consist of?

Thanks!

2. Ivan P macrumors 68030

Ivan P

The simplest way of explaining a cycle:

Disconnecting the power at 100%, letting the battery completely die, then recharging back to 100% = 1 cycle

Basically one cycle involves the battery discharging 100% of it's charge and regaining 100% if it's charge - for example: discharging completely from 50%, charging all the way to 100% and then discharging back to 50% is also one cycle.

As for current battery capacity, it refers to how much of a charge your battery can hold (it's also referred to as 'battery health'). Basically, your battery's capacity is 92 mAh less than what it was when the battery was first manufactured. Don't really stress about this one, the capacity can fluctuate based on things like outside temperature. Just make sure you cycle the battery often (a cycle being like what I explained above) and your battery will be fine. It seems at the moment you're doing at least 1 cycle per day, which seems perfect :)

3. telecomm macrumors 65816

telecomm