How does eSATA work w/ Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by zdobson, Aug 27, 2008.

1. zdobson macrumors 6502

I just purchased this external enclosure for a hard drive. I've never used eSATA before and was wondering how it works. I have a mac pro 2.8 octo. The enclosure includes an eSATA bracket that will connect to a motherboard with HOT-SWAP, but as far as I've been able to tell the MP doesn't have that.

What are my options for connecting this to my MP? I'm using this drive to archive photos and will use it a few times a week, but I don't always leave it connected. I store it in a safe when I'm away.

2. Cave Man macrumors 604

Cave Man

You need to install an eSATA card, such as those based on PCI.

3. zdobson thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the info. What's the cheapest one I can get that would serve the purpose? I don't need raid or even multiple eSATA ports. Just one would be enough.

4. nanofrog macrumors G4

5. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

Phatpat

Shouldn't the OP's bracket just plug into a spare SATA port in the Mac Pro?

6. zdobson thread starter macrumors 6502

That's what I'm wondering. I read a post somewhere about the last generation of Mac Pro and they said that since the motherboard doesn't support hot swap, the drive always had to be on or the computer would have a disc error. I'm wondering if this post was accurate and, if so, if that is still the case with the newest MP.

7. nanofrog macrumors G4

No Hot Swap built-in on a Mac Pro. :(

As you've discovered, as long as you leave the external has to remain on. Otherwise, shut down, turn the external on and then restart the computer. Not all that bad, but may be annoying. :eek:

8. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

TheStrudel

Some PCIe cards do have hot-swap, like this one:

http://www.nitroav.com/product/472/

I've used it and it works pretty well. Hot-swap and SMART are supported. If you need eSATA, generally speaking, you'll be able to afford a card that has the specs you need.