How does Leopard/Time Machine relate to MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WhySoSerious, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. WhySoSerious macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    Can someone explain to me how this will work with a MBP?

    I understand to use Time Machine, I will need to purchase an external hard drive....fine.

    I understand once I plug in the HD, Leopard will ask if I want to use this HD for Time Machine, which I'll click "yes"...fine.

    Now, Time Machine will do a full system backup and will continue to do so hourly as it has been stated...BUT, my mac is a LAPTOP!

    I move around all the time with it....couch, toilet, work, airplane, bedroom, hotel, etc. Obviously Time Machine will not be backing up my system when I unplug the HD, right? So, when does Time Machine actually backup?....Does it back up every time I plug in the HD?

    So, if I have my MBP plugged into the charger and the external HD, Time Machine is bakcking up, correct/incorrect?

    When I go to another room and unplug the MBP and HD, Time Machine stops backing up, correct/incorrect?

    Say, 15 minutes later I plug my MBP and HD back in, does Time Maching begin backing up again?

    I just need to understand the system of how I should be using the MBP and Time Maching and the External HD all together effectively.
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Time Machine is design in such a way so that it only backs up 'anything that has changed since the last backup'.

    So the process will occur on the hour or the next time you connect to your TM hard drive (if past the hour).

    Just don't disconnect when it's actually doing the backing up.
     
  3. illicium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    I am in the same boat. It's discouraging to hear that Time Machine can't back up to a network drive wirelessly.:(
     
  4. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #4
    This is for sure it can't???
     
  5. dogtanian macrumors 6502

    dogtanian

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #5
    Huh? I was relying on that! I wanted to hook up my WD mybook 500GB via AEBS!

    Please don't tell me I can't... One will not be impressed :mad:
     
  6. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #6
    "toilet" - I'd LOVE to know how exactly you manage to use your MBP while on you're on the toilet! Haha. I mean where do you put it? On your lap? The floor? :eek:
     
  7. PhatBoyG macrumors regular

    PhatBoyG

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #7
    They don't call it a laptop for nothing.

    Just don't ask to borrow it after an extended session.
     
  8. WhySoSerious thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    MBP is a 17", too big to sit on my lap. It sits on the counter next to me.

    Back on point...

    Will we not be able to hook up our external HD's to the Apple Airport router and wirelessly update??
     
  9. theGAPkid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    right...

    Been online chatting with Apple rep -

    Basically he said that you need to reattatch your external HDD everytime you want to make a new backup. So tbh I think its gonna be a whole load of hassle. Im not sure if it keeps a track of all your changes and then uploads them all to the Ex. HDD everytime you connect it if you see what i mean. i.e. Make 2/3 changes to a file between each backup :confused:

    Also he said - Which I personally didnt know, is if you have an 80Gb harddrive, your external one needs to be at least 160Gb. Not sure if this goes for the other sizes :S
     
  10. WhySoSerious thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #11
    wow, not cool!

    So, I need to buy a 500GB external now (my MBP is 250)?? Geeez!

    I'm thinking the best way to navigate this Time Machine would be to just plug it in each night before bed and let it do it's 30-60 minute backup, rather than plug/unplugging it throughout the day.....yes/no?

    thoughts?
     
  11. dogtanian macrumors 6502

    dogtanian

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #12
    I'm thinking so, but the Apple reps don't seem to know anymore than we do on this site.

    I've heard elsewhere that the size just limits how far you can go back :confused:
     
  12. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #13
    You can do that. It was a specific example in the WWDC keynote this year.
     
  13. jamminph88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    #14
    can you only back up certain files? My music file for instance, I wont need to back up, but my school documents file, I could see having a spare being useful.
     
  14. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #15
    yes, you can select certain folders to ignore backing up!

    since then, it seems that this feature hasn't been implemented.
     
  15. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #16
    Even if you only do it once every few days, which is probably what I'll end up doing, it'll still provide a good backup. Do I really need an hourly backup anyway?
     

Share This Page