How does Remote Wipe work?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Karma, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. Karma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #1
    It was discussed in keynote. I'm assuming it would be part of the 2.0 software, which may include support for version iPhone v1. Any ideas?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    The Enterprise info site didn't have much info on it when I looked for it.

    My guess, stand alone app.

    Perhaps a way to leverage Mac OS X Server into institutions that wish to support the iPhone on an enterprise level?
     
  4. Karma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #4
    I guess we'll have more info on June 27th, hopefully. How do you imagine it would work?

    btw, does anyone know if "remote wipe" is available for BB, etc?
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yes, remote wipe is available on BB.

    I image there will have to some sort of central enterprise app with an iPhone registry, so phones can be tracked and the wipe code sent when required?

    Or perhaps Cisco has some sort of functionality in VPN servers that allows wipe codes?

    No clue.


    For BB, it's all handled by the local BES (Blackberry Enterprise Server, I think). Choose the account, click the nuke button. Boom.
     
  6. txr0ckabilly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Southwest Louisiana
    #6
    i just realized with this new GPS, Remote wipe might not be necessary at least from the regular joe. theoretically, using the app for locating friends, if you had a second iphone you could track a lost or stolen iphone. believe me, it would have been a feature i could of used a few months ago.
     
  7. liquidlink macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #7
    Remote wipe is part of Blackberry Enterprise Server. The way is works is like this, ffrom Enterprise Server you select the Blackberry you want to remote wipe, click the remote wipe button and the handheld will erase all data and reboot leaving you with a blank device. Great feature if you lose your BB and do not want someone else to get your data.
     
  8. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #8
    Yeah, while you're trying to play vigilante and track them down, they're rifling thorugh corporate data :rolleyes: Remote wipe is VERY necessary for corporate customers.
     
  9. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #9
    I'd imagine it's done via the Microsoft Exchange admin console, just as you wipe Windows Mobile phones.

    Yes, that's why the iPhone needed it to compete. WM and BB have it.

    There are even consumer WM programs that let ordinary users do the same kind of thing. You install the app and give it a secret codeword. Then anytime you want, you can send a text message to your phone with the special codeword and it will wipe itself. (I suppose someone could write a version that sends back the GPS coords instead, if there aren't programs that do that already.)
     
  10. Baron58 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    #10
    You do it from the System Manager console on Exchange Server. For that matter, you can even set it to wipe the device if the wrong password is entered a certain number of times. Combine that with the setting to require a password, and you're covered for those times when the device gets gone before it's noticed.

    • Launch System Manager on Exchange 2003 or higher
    • Expand 'Global Settings'
    • Right-click on 'Mobile Services'
    • Check all the boxes to enable ActiveSync & Outlook Mobile
    • Click 'Device Security', and so forth.

    Can't wait to get rid of the effing blackberries and Blackberry Enterprise Server!
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    That's the impression I got from the SDK presentation.
     
  12. Karma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #12
    Ok, what about saving the data? I don't have much experience with this, so would there be any way to move the data to a replacement iPhone?
     
  13. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #13
    If the data is on your iPhone and wiped using an Exchange server, then that data is also on the Exchange server still. Easy to get back onto your new phone.
     
  14. alexboy45 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #14
    to use the remote wipe on the iphone you will have to install the mobile admin utility on to the MS echange server. from there you will be able to see a list of devices (Iphone, Windows Mobile Devices) from here you tell the device to wipe. it will then do a factory reset. for what i remember it will keep wiping the device untill you tell the server to stop or that the simcard has been changed(I could be wrong)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. txr0ckabilly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Southwest Louisiana
    #15
    reread- i did say the "average joe".

    the only thing they got off my lost iphone was porn :(

    sadly that's probably a factor in why they didn't return it for the reward. they thought i was some kind of degenerate or something.
     
  16. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #16
    lol..

    I was just saying that remote wipe implies that you're connected to an Exchange server. It's not available otherwise (unless they add it to MobileMe), therefore, an "average joe" (meaning not having corporate email on the phone) wouldn't have access to it.
     
  17. Ibjr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eastern seaboard
    #17
    I wonder if they will include remote wipe for MobileMe, how could it be "exchange" for the rest of us w/o such a great feature?
     
  18. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #18
    Let me speak from personal experience, wiping yourself with a remote is not a good idea.

    Oh, wait I don't think we're talking about the same thing :p
     
  19. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #19
    Because most people are too stupid to be trusted with such destructive tools. Remote wipe will most likely be offered only in an enterprise package. MobileMe and other normal iphone users won't have any access to it.
     
  20. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #20
    I'll tell you how it works on nokia s60 devices and i belive this is the way it will work with the iphone: - you have a password for wiping your phone. If someone nicks your phone, you text your phone this password and your phone wipes itself.

    my question: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=498324
    is what happen is someone gets your iphone and screws with the data which will kill ALL your mobileme data? hey, apple!? :eek:
     
  21. Ibjr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eastern seaboard
    #21
    Not including remote wipe in windows ME would be a mistake. A very big mistake.
     
  22. applemax macrumors 65816

    applemax

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    #22
    You mean, mobileme right? :D:p
     
  23. Ibjr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eastern seaboard
    #23
    Yes I did.

    But I do think anyone who experienced Windows ME wold have wanted to be able to wipe it off their computer remotely.
     
  24. Fulgham macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    #24
    anyone know if the iphone will "lock" (ie require a password) after it has been wiped?

    ya its cool it got my personal info off... but then i basically just did the work of clearing everything off for the thief... I don't want them to be able to use it... so there is a bigger chance i can get it back!


    Ooorrr orbicule... get on making Undercover for the iPhone!
     

Share This Page