How does the automatic brightness works?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by DaMob, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. DaMob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #1
    I'm wondering how the automatic brightness works?
    Sometimes when I'm surfing or doing other stuff, the brightness jumps to a much higher setting even though there hasn't been any change in the surrounding light (if it works with some kind of light sensor as in the Macbook's).

    It's not that annoying but it hurts your eyes the first few seconds when this happens, so if possible I'd like to know how it works so I can prevent this from occuring.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mars478 macrumors 6502a

    Mars478

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    NYC, NY
    #2
    There is a small light sensor at the top.
    You can disable it by:
    Settings>Brightness> Auto - Brightness- OFF.
     
  3. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #3
    It has an ambient light sensor. No automatic thing is faultless. It can be affected by as little as the light from the screen being reflected off your face.
     
  4. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    You may also have a case that causes this. On iPhones it usually results in a dim screen as opposed to a brightly lit one. This can happen if you use a case designed for a 3G with a 3GS, or in the case of an iPod touch, one meant for use with a 1st/2nd gen when you have a 3rd.
     
  5. DaMob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    Thanks!

    But you must tell me where the exact location of the sensor is, cause I tried to cover the top of my iPod to see if it had any effect, but it didn't.
     
  6. nc7r macrumors member

    nc7r

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #6
    A 2 second google image search brought up:

    [​IMG]

    I can confirm this is where the ambient light sensor is, you can see it in certain strong light.

    It checks for light when you lock/unlock the iPod.
     
  7. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #7
    FWIW, the 2nd/3rd Gen iPod Touches are identical in their physical sizes, it's the 1st Gen that's different. Your point still makes sense, just wanted to clear up that point.
     
  8. Penguissimo macrumors 6502a

    Penguissimo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Second- and third-generation Touches DO have the same physical size, but the 3G has the light sensor in a different place. If you have something like an Otterbox (which was never updated for the 3G), the iPod will fit, but the light sensor will be blocked by the case.
     
  9. metalhead777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I would just turn it off. Useless feature anyways. :D :apple:
     

Share This Page