How does this work ??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by yv.haranath, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. yv.haranath macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #1
    Recently i bought iphone 3gs from craigslist, it has os 3.1.3 and base band 5.12.01.

    I searched and found their is no unlock for the baseband 5.12.01 for iphone 3gs.

    But when i put my old ATT sim card (which doesnot have data plan) , it works...

    why is that ?

    Can it even work for T mobile ?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It works for AT&T because it is locked to AT&T. :confused:
     
  3. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #3
    AT&T activated SIM cards will work.

    Even if it doesn't have a data plan (But isn't blocked), it'll work, and everytime it uses data, it will add up and charge you (Which is very expensive).


    Might as well get a data plan..
     
  4. yv.haranath thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #4
    i got it......it works even i dont have data plan.....umm...weird..


    but if u you put any sim in iphone 3gs with 3.1.2 will not work unless u register with ATT for data plan ??

    And if i jailbreak and unlock right then i wont be able to use data plan and wont get charged right ??

    thanks all....
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Once the iphone its activated with an official AT&T sim it will work no matter what ATT simcard you stick in.
     

Share This Page