How Does Time Machine Work Its Magic?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Lenser33, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. Lenser33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #1
    (First of all I have to mention that I am new to posting, just posted yesterday for the first time and received a ton of respnses that solved the problem right away....this is a great community for a MacAddict like myself...THANKS!)

    I have a new iMAC 24" that has about 250 Gig of stuff that has been transferred from my old iMAC. I hooked up my external drive to run TIME MACHINE for the first time last night before going to bed thinking it would take hours to xfer all of that info to the external. I started the back up and in about 2 minutes it said that it was finished.

    I really don't get it...how does it work?!?!? Does the external REALLY have all of the 250Gig of stuff on it now?

    Confused and interested...

    thanks!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Eidorian speaks the truth. It'll only copy used space; why would it rewrite billions of zeros? Oh, and it's iMac, not iMAC. I don't know where people get the idea that it's all caps... Maybe it comes from being in a world where systems don't have names, but only serial numbers that are in all caps. Cases in point: Sony VAIO CR, INSPIRON 1720, 8710W, and the like.
     
  4. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
  5. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #5
    This is what I was thinking as well. 250GB would take a while, even through Firewire.

    OP, can you go to your iMac's HD on the desktop, right click, select "get info" and tell us the capacity and space available?
     
  6. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I was using only about 45 GB and it backed up to my 1TB Lacie drive with FW800 at lightning speed. I was suspicious at first. Course 45GB is not that much data, I'll grant you.
     
  7. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #7
    Maybe so, but there is no way FW800 would do 250GB in 2 mins.
     
  8. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #8
    I think he means that he was backing up 45GB of data, not 250GB.

    Even so, that seems quite fast. OP, I'd go back to your external and verify that it's all there.
     
  9. nickster9224 macrumors 6502a

    nickster9224

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    35 Miles From Chicago, Illinois
    #9
    i think it only modifies what youve changed. but im not sure
     
  10. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #10
    That is how it works for future backups, but the initial backup is still quite large. 2 minutes sounds too good to be true for that much data.
     
  11. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #11
    I was referring to the OP not the person who said their 45GB backed up quickly.
     
  12. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #12
    :eek: Right you are. For some reason I thought that was the OP. :eek:
     

Share This Page