How does Windows Explorer report the iPhone's capacity?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Gjwilly, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #1
    Don't know if I never noticed it before or what but after installing iOS5-b3, my 16GB 3GS is showing a capacity of over 18GB in Windows Explorer.

    Anybody else seeing weird numbers like that?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    There have been reports of this in the past. I'm not sure where it gets the number from though.
     
  3. Sherifftruman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    I had that same thing for a while with 4.2.1 and it when away when I upgraded to 4.3.3.
     
  4. barkingDog macrumors regular

    barkingDog

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #4
    "Windows Explorer reports bloated capacity" explanation

    (A link to a post I made regarding this phenomenon. Still don't know why it happens, but the post shows where the reported number seems to derive from.)

    EDIT to say: Mine didn't go away (firmware v4.3.4) - I use Win7 x64.
     
  5. Nicolas4ever macrumors 6502a

    Nicolas4ever

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #5
    that's also happening to me. it says from the first time i bought it that it has 18,5GB,it's weird!!!:p
     
  6. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/9A5259f Safari/6533.18.5)

    My 32gb usually shows 54.6gb available is u look at it in windows explorer
     
  7. Nicolas4ever macrumors 6502a

    Nicolas4ever

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #7
    really ? woah:eek:.That means that a 64gb idevice like an ipad 2 will be in the windows explorer like a 100gb idevice great
     
  8. Gjwilly thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area

Share This Page