How easy is Final Cut Express?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by maclover001, Sep 25, 2008.

1. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

maclover001

Hey all,
    I have been using iMovie '06 ('08 is too simple for me) for about 5 months now. I want to step up to Final Cut Express. Is it as easy to use as iMovie '06? Do you get all the cool transitions and the like?

Also, will it run well on a white MacBook? It has a 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo processor with 1GB memory.

I'm slowly replacing iLife with the pro apps (Aperture has fully replaced iPhoto now)

And a side note, will upgrading the memory to 2GB be a noticeable difference?

And one last thing, Apple doesn't offer a "professional" alternative to iTunes do they? Seems like all of iLife has a professional partner except iTunes.

Thanks in advance!

2. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

Hi maclover001,

I have a 2.16 Ghz White MacBook with a GMA 950 Integrated Graphics card and Final Cut Express works just dandy on it. I'd make sure you have an external hard drive for the video files though...

I use version 3.5.1, which may or may not require less "power" than version 4. Regarding whether or not it is as easy as iMovie: It's not. It is a "step up". However, you'll definitely be able to grasp onto it quickly. There is somewhat of a learning curve at first, but you just have to watch the free video tutorials on Apple's web site. They are very informative and easy to follow.

Good luck!

3. bearcatrp macrumors 68000