How easy is it to get redsnow working, any tips?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bwfc0907, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. bwfc0907 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    #1
    Hi guys, have a 3G on O2. How easy is it to jailbreak using redsnow. I've already got 3.0. Is that ok?
    Keep seeing horror stories being posted.
    Do you guys have any tips before I use it? I use vista, for my sins.
     
  2. johnwin macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #2
    it's really easy - just follow the tutorial here on the forum and the instructions that come up in redsn0w

    I JB'd for 1st time last night and it took 5 mins tops

    I'm NOT seeing the battery issues seen in other threads

    And remember - you can always go back to un-JB
     
  3. bwfc0907 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    #3
    Where's the tutorial?
     
  4. Lord Sandwich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Just finished redsn0w now because PwnageTool's restore phase kept failing in iTunes. It's remarkably easy, just be ready to hit the power button immediately after the screen that instructs you to turn off the phone--you don't get much warning!
     
  5. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    I found it very easy to jailbreak with redsn0w.
    I had just installed 3.0 so I had the firmware in my Apple folder still.

    Copied it all into my C:\ for easier access with CMD and then realised I had got the new updated redsn0w with a UI lol.

    Basically just follow what redsn0w says, the main part is putting it into restore mode which is easy enough. I never know when to stop holding the home button though so I kept holding it for ages. Until I saw it was patching the kernel (Disk image on the screen)
     
  6. froggie22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #6
    i found it really easy.. just make sure you have a clean install of 3.0 and you should get no errors.. took about 5 minutes..
     
  7. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
  8. Lord Sandwich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #8
    Oh, speaking of tips: Don't install Icy with Cydia, or at least don't load it before Cydia. Totally messed up my APT system and I had to restore again. :rolleyes:
     
  9. iPhoneVic macrumors regular

    iPhoneVic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #9
    It was

    a piece of cake...:) easier than the last quickpwn...I have the new 3GS, so I JB'd my 3G in under 10 minutes.
     
  10. /b/ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #10
    Sorry that this is out of topic but I'm not sure where else to post.
    Anyway, I'm having an issue with SSH under SBSettings automatically turning back on after I power off the phone and switching it back on.
    Note, I've turned SSH off before switching the phone off.
    Is it the same with everyone else ?
     
  11. 10dulkar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #11
    hey guys - complete novice here, so would appreciate if you could confirm my understanding:

    i have an iphone 3g - never jailbroken/unlocked etc etc...i am now on OS3.0. i also am on a mac...

    i want to unlock the phone, and for that i need to use ultrasn0w - correct?
    however, since my phone is not jailbroken, i need to jailbreak it first - correct?
    to jailbreak it, i need to use redsn0w - correct?
    once it is jb'ed, i can unlock and then move to t-mobile if i so choose - correct?

    thanks for reading!

    cheers!
     
  12. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #12
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Maybe, so long as your contract is up.
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  14. bwfc0907 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    #14
    I already have 3.0 installed. At what stage do I use redsnow in the tutorial?
     
  15. Sebby macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Just start from the beginning. It makes no difference if you already have 3.0.
     
  16. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    If you are following the tutorial, I would use redsn0w at the point the tutorial says to use redsn0w ???? :confused:

    Not sure of your question. If you don't follow the instructions, you will likely not be successful.
     

Share This Page