How fast is your PPC boot time?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WGoins88, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. WGoins88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #1
    I seen this in another section of the forum, and figured, Hey... we can play too!

    Here's mine -

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9VF5Tb4jkM

    Specs -

    OS X 10.4.11
    1.0GHz Dual G4
    2GB Ram
    80GB HD
    2nd 40GB HD
    ATI Radeon 9000 Pro
     
  2. zen.state, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

    zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #2
    My boot time is about 23-24 sec on Leo. My boot drive is a SATA WD Caviar Black with 64MB buffer.

    Edit: my time listed above is from a couple weeks back when I tested it. I just tried again and it was 29 sec now for some reason. I guess it just had more to crunch before it started the actual reboot.
     
  3. Paulywauly macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #3
    iBook clamshell SE Graphite (G3 466Mhz)
    576MB RAM
    10GB Stock HD
    Running OS 10.4.11

    Boot time - 2 Minutes 55 seconds hehe:D
     
  4. WGoins88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #4
    Wow... how did I manage to beat your iBook with a 5500/250? It booted up in 2 minutes, 5 seconds.
     
  5. Paulywauly macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    That would depend on what OS you have running on it I suppose, OS 8 right? Panther booted much faster on the iBook and I hear OS 9 flies on these things. plus I do have a few apps which start@login (Dropbox, MobileMe sync and a battery health monitor)
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    My 466 Clamshell boots from power button press to functional desktop in about 40 secs. But it has SSD inside :p

    OP, I always liked this "jet engine" sound of MDDs :D Sounds you have 400W PSU in yours.
     
  7. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #7
    My Sawtooth roars pretty loud also. I don't know the exact db rating but it has to be at least 35db. I have two extra fans inside the case for a total of 181 CFM.

    The human ear tends to miss anything below 22 but can hear anything above 25 or so.
     
  8. WGoins88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #8
    Yeah, mine still has the loud but reliable 400w supply. I'm glad it doesn't have the replacement 360w supply... it seems that the only supplies that fail are the 360w ones. I got a Single 1.25 MDD 2003 sitting on the floor next to me that has a dead Samsung 360w supply.
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    Yes, I've replaced many Samsung PSUs. AC Bel ones are fine. I have Samsung in mine, but I'll replace it with ATX one (as soon as I'll finish LCS mod).

    To be not completely off-topic: one of modded Mystics that I sold long ago, was booting in about 30 secs with 7200 mechanical HDD and 10.4.11 on it. These older machines have shorter time of firmware load. It's one of reasons why they're boot so quick (like zen.state's one).
     
  10. jchase2057 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
  11. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #11
    Not sure this is a relevant topic, configurations vary so much, with boot times increasing for the amount of ram sticks, pci/isa/pcie cards you have in there...
     
  12. jchase2057 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #12
    Thats why its relevant. This way people with similar machines can see what certain upgrades and mods will do for their own boot times. Ie. Look at the 2 clamshell posts. Less than a minute to almost 3 minutes.
     
  13. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #13
    Awww I'm sad. My DP867 has a Samsung PSU in it, however my G5 has a 600w acbel. happy times XD
     

Share This Page