How good are the 24" iMac 2.4ghz?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by OrangeSVTguy, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    Well someone local wants to trade their 24" iMac 2.4ghz for my 15" original Macbook Pro. Is this a good trade? How fast are they? Good enough graphics or gaming in Windows? I don't really need the portability as I can basically do everything from my phone.

    I'd love to get the 27" iMac but I don't want to spend all that money for a new one. Is the 24" a good model? And how nice are the screens?
     
  2. jorgeblasio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Mexico city, Mexico
    #2
    It's a good machine with a horrible, horrible graphics card. Performance-wise it's on-par with what you currently have. Actually, you'll get better frame rates at native resolutions since the iMac's one is 1920x1200. The only difference is the max ram (4GB), VRAM (256), processor speed (2.4 Ghz) and processor architecture (64 bit).

    Gaming-wise it's not an upgrade at all.

    My advice: sell your current MacbookPro and buy a refurb or last generation iMac:

    http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/imac
     
  3. ninjaslim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #3
    Which graphics card does it have?

    I have an iMac 20" 2.4 GHz from the same generation. It has a 2400XT with 128MB. It's a decent card, and the recent graphics update has made games on Steam in OS X quite playable.

    However, there is no denying that if your MacBook Pro has an 8600M GT, then that will beat any video card on an iMac from that generation.
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    The CD original Macbook Pros have the x1600 graphics with 256mb memory. I will know in a bit which one it has.

    I know CPU wise it's a big step up to the C2D. Reading online these have the HD 2600Pro graphics?
     
  5. ninjaslim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #5
    I didn't notice you had a MacBook Pro with the Core Duo. In that case, it is a pretty decent step up. As for the graphics card, I used a 2600 Pro 256MB in a desktop before. It's a decent card, but it won't last long. It'll be able to Team Fortress 2, Counter-Strike Source and various other games developed by Valve at maximum settings with low AA filtering. Don't count on it playing some of the newer games like Crysis, that is for Windows. Older games should be alright.
     
  6. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    Agreed, but add that you can max out the ram to 6GB, and that for the last 2+ years my machine has been flawless. The screen is great, although I imagine that it would suffer side-by-side with the current version.
     
  7. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #7
    How can you say it has a horrible, horrible graphics card when he never said what graphics card was in it?
     

Share This Page