How good is the iPad as a business tool?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Thunderbird8, Nov 26, 2010.

1. Thunderbird8 macrumors regular

Thunderbird8

I am thinking of not replacing my laptop next year (I have a desktop too) but going for an iPad instead. Here are my main uses:

1. Internet browsing / accessing online services (e.g. posting to job boards)
    2. Email including receiving (mostly) Word attachments
    3. Opening and editing Word attachments, saving as PDF
    4. Accessing and saving files to/on Mobile Me
    5. Leisure stuff too, music, photos etc.

Any opinions on ease of use for business-related activities would be useful.

2. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

hotwire132002

The iPad is perfect for what you're looking to do. I bought an iPad in April, intending to use it primarily for app testing (I'm a developer), but it ended up replacing my MacBook Pro -- which I used to take everywhere, though I really only used it for email and web browsing.

The iPad handles word attachments just fine, and you can edit/save as PDF if you spend $10 on Pages. It handles Music, photos, etc really well, too.

The only thing I'm not 100% sure on is the MobileMe file access. I haven't personally used it, but assuming you're just accessing word files, photos, videos, etc, I can't see any issues...

Hope this helps :)

3. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

Thunderbird8

Thanks, what I would want to do on Mobile Me would be to either receive a file as an attachment and upload it to MM, creating a new folder for it.

What I would also like to do is fetch a file from Mobile me and then send it to someone as an attachment.

4. bentrider macrumors member

I run a small business (cycling web site and a freelance writer) and I ditched my Macbook for the iPad. I'll comment in order.

1 - By far my favorite web browsing device. Don't miss Flash at all. Haven't found a message board yet that it hasn't worked on.