How happy are you with your macPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ti22, Jun 20, 2009.

1. Ti22 macrumors newbie

hey guys,

I am wondering how happy you guys are with your mac pro.

I must say I am really happy with mine.

I've had mine for 2 years now, and i hardly turn it off, usually i just put it to sleep, i have the occasion full restart(like once in 3 months) but usually it runs fine without a reboot.

When i first got it it had the X1900XT in it. and i was abit disappointed with the graphics card apple put in their mac pros.

Anyways now I've upgraded to the Radeon HD4870 and I must say I am impressed. It runs much faster (i animate heavily in Maya i am a professional animator workin in a company)

anyways. I use it alot for aperture projects, maya, final cut pro, web development (i know this doesn't use the power of the mac pro but still.) )

I must say I am really happy with my setup it has not shown its age, it runs games like a champ.

I can never say this about a PC, I think even though mac pros are more expensive but I also upgrade much less than a PC. i remember when I had a PC i had to upgrade every 6 months to keep up.

Any hoo. how happy are you guys with your mac Pros

I recently installed Windows 7 and it runs windows 7 awesome!, super stable. All games run perfect. I played UT3 and HL2 Episode 2 so far I maxed out every setting and it still runs fast! i am using the 23inch Cinema Display btw.

With the Snow Leopard coming bringing enhancements to the system it will make it even faster.

I think i will keep this setup for another 4-6 years. :)

btw in case you are wondering, my mac pro is as follows:

MacPro 1,1 3.0 Quad scores 7.2 on the windows performance index
    8GB Ram scores 7.2 as well on the windows index
    Radeon 4870 (Xfx 1GB) scores 6.8 on the windows perf index
    3 HDD @ 250GB each no RAID. (raid cards are too expensive at the moment and i can't seem to find a good one anyone care to recommend?)

2. Tesselator macrumors 601