How hard to build a site?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Dal123, Jan 10, 2009.

1. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

Dal123

How hard is it to build your own website from scratch. Done a 2 year graphics course and learnt nothing so I'm a real beginner really. Work in the construction game so I'm no brain of britain lol.
    I have Flash MX2004 pro, Dreamweaver, Quark, Illustrator and Photoshop. I think I have the programs to do the job. I'm trying to do a photo sequence in flash to email possible clients to get work and I just can't do it. Dunno what to do? Ideally I would hire someone but I just can't afford it.
    Really starting to get me down now, Its coming up to midnight and I've been working on this photo transition effect in flash since 8am. Just don't know how to do it; I have another post with this problem if anyone thinks they can help would be much appreciated.
    I always think hard work will get you places but maybe without the technical know how you could work as hard as you want; still won't get there. Should I check for prices to hire someone or keep going?

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I wouldn't give up just yet. There's decent tutorials out there for what you're wanting to do. Sometimes it just takes the right search terms to use to find them. I'm not a Flash person so can't help with any specifics, but there are some here so hopefully they'll chime in when they come around.

You should also consider just putting a simple web page together showing off whatever work you're wanting to show off. There's some nice JavaScript scripts out there to make it look nice as well. Flash files can get kind of large, especially if you start pumping them full of images, so it doesn't make a great delivery through email. Just something to consider. Basic web design is pretty easy as long as you aren't doing anything too fancy. DreamWeaver will work nicely for this, and there's plenty of tutorials out there for using DW.