How hardcore do I need this computer to be? Advice would be awesome.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Alicepire, Mar 5, 2009.

1. Alicepire macrumors newbie

Hey guys,
    I'm trying to work out what sort of computer my cousin needs, but I don't actually use any of these graphics programs, so I don't know how hardcore this computer needs to be. They don't have a bunch of cash, so I don't want to go too far overboard, but I want it to be able to keep up and have a bit of grunt to spare so when the programs get more hardcore next year.
    He needs to be able to run 3D Studio Max and a bunch of other large apps, often all at the same time. He's an interior designer and his partner is an architect, so they need to be able to run programs that have stuff to do with that.
    So what say you friendly folk?
    Thanks for the help, in advance.
    -Alice

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

3D Studio Max is for Windows only, I'm no expert but most CAD apps also seem to be mainly Windows based. There doesn't seem much point in buying a Mac Pro just to run Windows on all day.

3. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

Are they looking for a Mac or do you just want hardware advice?

4. Alicepire thread starter macrumors newbie

They're looking for a Mac because Macs are supposed to be great for people dealing with graphics stuff and their old computer is a Mac and Macs are generally more awesome. But if a PC is a better way to go then I'll start looking into that.
    They were hoping to go out and buy it tomorrow, or next week sometime (they've just moved back to Australia and need a computer ASAP).

5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

You or they need to do some research and understand their software needs.

If more of the stuff they want to run is Windows only then buying a Mac makes no sense.

6. Alicepire thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the advice edesignuk. I'll try to get the names of some of the other programs they want to run.