how hot is your corner?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by siurpeeman, Apr 9, 2007.

  1. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #1
    who here has hot corners enabled? and if so, what do they do? anything cool out of the usual?

    for me, top right is exposé (all windows), bottom left is dashboard, and bottom right reveals the desktop. top left has no function to avoid accidental activation when i go to click on the apple. share your hot corners!
     
  2. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #2
    Can't say I like them, I can see there uses for some people, but it annoys me when suddenly the screen saver starts or Exposé kicks in as I've knocked the mouse into a corner.

    In summary, my corner is not very hot.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I like hot corners only with trackpads:

    Bottom left: Exposé
    Bottom right: Dashboard

    I can just swing my finger for Exposé...wonderful
     
  4. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #4
    Bottom-right corner does "application windows" Exposé for me. I don't use it much and I wanted to free up the keyboard shortcut.

    I use two corners for screen saver (one to activate and one to disable).

    I'm not really aware of anything "interesting" that can be done with hot corners out of the box. What sort of thing did you have in mind?
     
  5. siurpeeman thread starter macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #5
    i was thinking along the lines of a 3rd party app. maybe a hot corner that would allow you to skip an itunes track. a hot corner that did something besides exposé, screen saver and dashboard. something different.
     
  6. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #6
    The bottom left hand corner puts the password protected screensaver on.
     
  7. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    I skip iTunes tracks with my mouse in conjunction with Synergy. I also use a spare mouse button (middle click) to do "all windows" Exposé, since I use it frequently.

    I find this more efficient than having to drag my mouse across a rather large monitor (and it allows me to avoid interrupting whatever I'm working on).

    You might want to play around with Quicksilver and/or CornerClick if you're really set on using the screen corners, though.
     
  8. MACDRIVE macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #8
    Hot Corners must be a 10.4 thing or something. :confused:
     
  9. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #9
    Ahh, don't think so. I'm pretty sure 10.3 (and maybe even earlier versions) had them has well.

    Personally I don't use them. I just don't find them particularly useful or convenient.
     
  10. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #10
    Top left is Desktop
    and
    Bottom right is screensaver (password protected) .

    Correct. Ooops, maybe not. :eek:
     
  11. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #11
    top-right: show desktop
    bottom-right: show all windows
    bottom-left: dashboard
    top-left: screensaver/lock screen
     
  12. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #12
    Bottom Left > Enable Screensaver (not password protected, just like the eye candy).

    Top Left > Disable Screensaver


    I use the keyboard shortcuts for all the Exposé features and Dashboard...
     
  13. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #13
    I use top-left to enable password-protected screensaver and so 'lock' the machine.
     
  14. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #14
    If the top-left and top-right corners were hot corners, that would annoy me to no end. The :apple:, App, and FILE menus are at the top-left, and the Spotlight icon and clock are at the top-right corner.

    I don't use hot corners, but if I had to use one, it'd be on the bottom left. I don't keep files on that half of the Desktop, so there's not much risk of me activating it accidentally.
     
  15. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I use bottom left for Expose-All Windows, bottom right isn't used because of the trash, and top as you say.
     
  16. MongoTheGeek macrumors 68040

    MongoTheGeek

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    Its not so much where you are as when you are.
    #16
    Hot corners have been in place since hmm 7 something, maybe 8.

    I used them for a while but I never found much utility in them and they were always coming on at the wrong times.
     
  17. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    My hot corners have remained unchaged since 8.x. Top left activates screen saver while top right disables screen saver.
     
  18. n8236 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #18

    OMG, Hot Corners are DA BOMB!!!

    Expose would NEVER be the same w/o them. They're a marriage made in Heaven!
    Using a key is fine too, but having the hot corners+trackpad makes navigating through a variety of apps so much easier.

    I have my All Windows to the lower left corner and Desktop on the upper right. As a right-handed user, those two corners are the easiest to reach.

    I run into them by accident sometimes, but it's not a hassle since you can easily retouch that corner to put things back the way they are.
     
  19. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #19
    I could not live without hot corners. Every time I am on a Windows PC I'll move the mouse to a corner and wonder why Exposé isn't coming up. :D

    Anyway, I have top left for expose, lower left for desktop and top right for dashboard. I had lower left for screen saver but it got annoying fast.
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    I use them too. I think they're set to top-left = all windows, bottom-left = app windows, bottom-right = DB, and top-right = desktop.
     
  21. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #21
    I used to have my bottom left be enable screensaver, but then I got over it and don't use any hot corners anymore.
     
  22. m-dogg macrumors 65816

    m-dogg

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #22
    Top Left - Dashboard
    Bottom Left - Expose (all windows)
    Bottom Right - Show Desktop
    Top Right - Nothing (I like to flick my mouse towards that corner for spotlight)
     
  23. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #23
    Top Right : Desktop
    Bottom Right : Expose`
    Bottom Left : Screen Saver

    Dashboard: F12 or a special button on my mouse. :)
     
  24. simontarr macrumors 6502

    simontarr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #24
    I have no idea how I would survive without hotcorners. They really do save loads of time when you're doing stuff.

    Bottom Left: Dashboard
    Bottom Right: Show Desktop

    My million-button mouse does all the expose stuff.
     
  25. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #25
    I tried the hot corners and hated it. Then again, I own a 12" lappy so it's relatively easy to accidently hit one. When I get the 24" iMac I'm dreaming about maybe I'll give 'em another try, but for now my 5 button mouse does the trick.
     

Share This Page