How I Installed Windows Vista without Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dale_Nx26, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. Dale_Nx26 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #1
    So at first, I read that bootcamp was mainly for resizing and partitioning, and drivers, and that it doesn't really affect installing Windows the process itself. Ok. I went ahead and decided to just put my vista disc into my macbook to try to install it without any other software, just like how you install it onto a PC. ...Well, one thing to note, i had my HDD partitioned prior to doin a full reinstall of OS X itself (eliminating the need of bootcamp). So i went ahead with the install and reached a screen where i can choose the partition. Turns out i can't install it! It says something like the GTP partition (i'm assuming that's the EFI part) prevents windows from installing. dang. what do i do next? I attempted to install XP. I figured it wouldn't "sense" the GTP sector, so i just did my thing. I ended up not being able to finish the setup so i just had a partition with a partial install of XP. greeeaaat. i decided to come back to installing vista. after going through its process, guess what? i was able to use the xp partition and accomplish an install of vista! I think the NTFS format from XP helped put Vista on as well. So now I'm a happy camper with a macbook dual booting both OS X tiger and Windows vista. Amazingly, Vista found many of the drivers so it can be functional -- only the touchpad and lack of brightness adjustment and sound is bothering me.

    So the point is, i read on many blogs that you need to eliminate OS X completely/remove the EFI partition in order to install Windows without bootcamp. Well, for me i didn't need to that. I didn't find a way on the internet where one can have both os x and windows without bootcamp; usually either or. The only major preliminary issue is that one needs find a way to partition the HDD without bootcamp, which is by reinstalling os x and using disk utility. So if you can't backup easily, then it'll prove difficult and not worth it (luckily i have a few HDDs laying around).

    My macbook is an early 2006 model. vista runs quite smoothly. aero works well. memory is usually 40% taken from 2GB ram.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I know there are advantages to using BootCamp... so what are the advantages of doing it this way and NOT using BootCamp?

    Why would you categorically NOT want to do this with BootCamp?
    Is it just to show it can be done?
    According to what you have posted, not all features are now functional.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Dale_Nx26 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #3
    well i only have tiger, so i don't really want to spend money upgrading to leopard just to use boot camp. now if apple releases boot camp alone at a low cost, then i'm all for it.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    I believe there is a beta available for Tiger

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. Dale_Nx26 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #5
    yea...except Apple stopped issuing it as a download. It only comes on Leopard now. Even if you could find sites hosting boot camp beta, I think there's a time limit (at least that's what happened before when I tried one, actually it didn't even work).
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    You have to set your clock back just to install, but then it works from what I understand

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. Dale_Nx26 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #7
    i might try bootcamp beta again and try that method. for some reason i thought you had to constantly revert the clock in order to make stuff work, but then, what you said was logical since there's no way to prevent Windows from working afteerward. there's also the issues of the drivers not being up to date and functions still wouldn't work fully.
     

Share This Page