How is 30" inch ACD with MacBook Pro 15" LED ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fab5freddy, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    i have the new MacBook Pro 15" LED, and am considering getting a 30" ACD as an external monitor for retouching and DVD watching.......

    How does this combo work ? are there any issues i will run into ??

    thanks!!
     
  2. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
  3. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
  4. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 6.12) Sprint:pPC6800)

    I was under the impression that the 30" acd requires two dvi inputs, of which the mbp would only have one. anyone know?
     
  5. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #5
    From the Apple website: http://www.apple.com/displays/specs.html

    Any MBP can drive the 30" ACD.
     
  6. tardinha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #6
    do it!

    it works perfectly. i love it!

    i have 17" Hi Res MBP, combined with the 30" ACD, I couldn't be happier.

    Mark :)

     
  7. TheSpecialist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Europe
    #7
    Wow I'm jealous:eek: Give me some please;)

     
  8. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #8
    Dual Link DVI Does Not Mean Two DVI Inputs

    You're kidding right? 30" monitors use Dual Link DVI which is ONE cable with ONE connector on each end. All Mac Book Pros have Dual Link DVI outputs and can easily drive any 30" Monitor.

    There is no such thing as a dual input for one image monitor. However, there is such a thing as a THREE Dual Link DVI input HP LP3065 monitor for only $1240 after rebate through Halloween that is a much better buy than the Apple ACD. :eek:
     
  9. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #9
    Just make sure you keep the battery out of the laptop if you've got it plugged in all the time... I have had my MBP hooked up to a external monitor with BT keyboard etc and now I have like 10 minutes of battery life because it just always stayed plugged in
     
  10. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #10
    ok, but if you are running the MBP 15" and have the MagSafe
    you are screwed if it accidently gets pulled out .....no....

    maybe tape it to the MBP ??

    or get a APC Battery Back Up ......
     
  11. /V\acpower macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #11
    The size of the screen doesn't matter, only the resolution.

    The monitor have it's own power source. All the MBP do is sending information trough DVI cable. Yes, in itself it does take more power from the MBP, but it is a totally NORMAL utilisation. Also, having two screen mean more pixels so more calculation for the MBP, but again, it's a computer, it is a giant calculator, it is totally normal.

    As for the battery, DO NOT use your MBP without it, because the MBP is programmed to run at half it's capacity when running without the battery, even when the charger is plugged.

    The reason this guy is having 10 minute of battery life is not because of an external monitor but simply because he obviously always use is MBP with the charger on. The electron NEED to move into a battery to maintain a good "health". Battery life is more affected by time it stays unused (or fully charged with the charger) than cycle. USE your battery, don't fear using it for two hours at starbuck or going into your living room without the charger. The worst thing to do is always looking for a place to plug the computer. The battery is made to be used.

    Of course, you can keep the computer plugged in even if the charge is at 100%, just use the battery from time to time. Also, do a Calibration every 1 or 2 months like Apple reccomand (type "Battery calibration" in the HELP search of Mac OS X)
     

Share This Page