How is everyone's wifi working?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by newtype2011, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. newtype2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #1
    Well, as I posted in another thread, my wifi has been erratic over the past few days; sometimes it will work fine, others, it won't work at all.

    Several of my friends have been having issues with their wifi as well, so I was curious if its a common problem for the 2nd Gen to have the wifi go flaky.

    What's your experience?
     
  2. theDUB macrumors 6502a

    theDUB

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    SLT, CA
    #2
    Maybe it is a short service outage on your ISPs end if it happens to your friends as well?
     
  3. mgguy macrumors 6502

    mgguy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #3
    Is the problem you have related to your wifi system at home or just your iPod's reception of wifi signals in public?
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    personally if it was me and the problem was with home wifi I would just reboot modem and router
     
  5. Bacong macrumors 68020

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #5
    surprisingly well, actually. I get poor wi-fi reception in this house but the iPod seems to ignore that.
     
  6. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #6
    My touch has trouble reconnecting to WiFi after it has been sleeping for more than just a few minutes. The problem happens often but on irregular intervals and requires power cycling it to reconnect.

    Going to take it by the Apple Store soon and see if they'll swap it out.
     
  7. mzd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    fortunately, my wifi has been great - no complaints. i use it at home, various friends' home networks, and at work (University).
     
  8. biikman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    #8
    well, funny you should ask. yesterday, for no reason I can fathom, I started getting the "unable to connect to safari" even though I had a strong signal, and checkmark. I looked the the wi-fi properties and for whatever reason it started getting an IP that started with 169. Despite everything I tried, resetting all network settings, resetting modem and router, forgetting the network etc nothing worked. I then selected static, and manually input the correct IP info, and this fixed it, for how long I don't know...
     
  9. Brewerpaul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Clifton Park,NY
    #9
    I use my Touch at home and at work via WiFi and it's nearly perfect. I occasionally use public hotspots too.
    The only glitch I sometimes see is that Pandora will poop out once in a while as if it's trying to buffer a tune. I have to hit STOP then PLAY again to get it to work. This doesn't happen too often though.
    My home modem is from Time Warner Cable, and the WiFi is strong enough that I can listen to Pandora while I'm outside the house, anywhere on our property.
     
  10. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    I've had no issues connecting to multiple WiFi networks.
     
  11. kwk1 macrumors regular

    kwk1

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    I don't have any problems at home, work, or elsewhere.
     
  13. CNick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #13
    Me too.. works fine at home, in public hot spots, in hotels and high-jacked from neighborhoods.
    I use the app... WiFiTrak, maybe that helps.
    Nick
     
  14. jameslarken macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #14
    Never really had any problems connecting to any wifi that had a good signal. If I ever lost a connection and Safari told me it couldn't connect, it was because of a splash screen for a hotspot. My PSP on the other hand is a pain. Stayed in a hotel one time that required you to press "enter" after entering your code to get access to the wifi. There is no "enter" on a PSP so I couldn't get it to work.
     
  15. DHarrisDBS34 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #15
    If the Wifi bugs out, I usually just turn the iPod off all the way then turn it back on and it's fine.
     
  16. Gaelic2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Mountains of N. California
    #16
    I have never has a problem at home, in WiFi spots or down in Mexico. It's a great little gadget that performs as advertised.:)
     
  17. MasConejos macrumors regular

    MasConejos

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    I've had similar issues.

    If unused for a while, my wifi-on button is shut off next time I bring it up (this may or may not be working as designed). When I try to connect, it will find connections no problem and even show that it has connected, but I get no IP address and no little wifi symbol at the top of the ipod. If I disable wifi then re-enable it, it will usually get an IP address. I took it to an apple store (where they rebooted it and it worked perfectly as it alsways does right after a reboot). They replaced it anyway because the home button didnt register clicks very well. The new ipod had the exact same wifi connection issues, so I just assumed that that is the way it worked.

    Summary: In general it can take me 3+ minutes to get a connection at a wifi spots (all over town). It works fine right after a reboot, but if it has been on for a day or more, I have trouble getting an IP address although it shows I am connected on the wifi management screen. This is across 2 different ipods.
     
  18. g2tegg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #18
    If you are getting a 169.xxx.xxx.xxx, its because your ipod was unable to obtain a IP address from your router. So it automatically assigns its own IP. If you were on a laptop with windows you will get the little yellow triangle and "limited or no connectivity".
    Try to completely shut down the ipod and rebooting it. Next, reboot your router. If your familuar with routers, log into it (using your gateway, either 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1, depending on manufaturer). Your password, if still default will be written on the bottom of the router. If not, its either admin/public, or vice versa. One or the other. Then click on the status page and see if your getting a proper DHCP. Or, open command prompt/terminal and try pinging a website (www.macrumors.com lol).
    I get this from time to time. Usually though, my router is malfunctioning. Or just be simply turning the wifi off in the settings and back on will resolve the issue.
    If anyone here has any networking questions feel free to ask. Its what I do for a living:D
     

Share This Page