How is my MBA running wifi and lan at the same time?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by waloshin, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. waloshin, Jan 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012

    waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    [​IMG]

    With both connected I am getting this; I thought you could only have one connected?:

    [​IMG]

    With just wifi or the network card I am lucky to get 2 Mbps.
     
  2. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Better shut that wormhole down before the planet gets sucked into it!
     
  3. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
  4. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #6
    You can have both connected, sure. Heck you could go hog-wild and connect Bluetooth too. these are hardware connections.

    The question is where the data is flowing. IIRC the mac will pull from the biggest pipe the data you want.

    Though I wouldn't be surprised if Apple has multiplexing going on now.
     
  5. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #7
    I keep my WiFi connected on both of my MBs and they both use the internet through the WiFi.

    I also keep both connected through ethernet. When I want to transfer files or use home sharing, both computers know to connect through the ethernet.
     
  6. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #8
    How is my MBA running wifi and lan at the same time?

    It would be the End of Days, if they didn't trumpet that first. ;)

    And WTH is "Ian". :p
     
  7. Grey Beard macrumors 65816

    Grey Beard

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Location:
    The Antipodes.
    #9
    iJH, I think the IAN is most probably LAN as in Local Area Network. Just says so's y'all won't be worried for another night.

    KGB:D
     
  8. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
  9. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #11
    Was :p too subtle for you? :p :p

    He had no trouble with the acronym for his MacBook Air, but his caps key froze for both WiFi and LAN. ;)
     

Share This Page