How is the 3G Coverage where you live?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Wailord, Aug 7, 2008.

?

How is your 3G Coverage?

  1. Stellar!- 4 or 5 bars

    31 vote(s)
    37.3%
  2. Alright...-2 or 3 bars

    17 vote(s)
    20.5%
  3. Poor...-1 bars

    11 vote(s)
    13.3%
  4. I do not receive a 3G signal

    24 vote(s)
    28.9%
  5. I opt out of 3G

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Wailord macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #1
    I live in Las Vegas, NV, and I have 4 or 5 bars across the entire city.
     
  2. JWages macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
  3. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #3
    Wow, consistent for all (except "didn't opt for 3G).
     
  4. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #4
    I live in a suburb of Atlanta....Usually only 1 bar indoors.
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    Round where I live it's EPIC FAIL.

    My village is a blackhole for most reception. Head a mile down the road and it's there, but I don't use it at home off wifi anyways.

    However, with the Cloud and BT Openzone in O2's WiFi offering, there are more than enough access points nearby.
     
  6. ashjamben macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #7
    mines non-existent (in UK here)

    although i do live in a very rural village. about 5 mins on the bus to the nearest town or city i quickly start getting it.
     
  7. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #8
    UK O2 signal is fine, I get signal and even at its lowest bars I still get a pretty fast speed.
     
  8. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #9
    4 to 5 bars all the time.

    I'm not sure how my little Okie town has such good 3G service but it is nice.
     
  9. rolex54 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #10
    it is extremely good in and around my house and school
    drive 20 minutes away and it turns into only EDGE
     
  10. b1gted macrumors regular

    b1gted

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    #11
    No 3G coverage in my town of 35,000 people.

    Drive 30 minutes south and start getting Full 3G bars.
     
  11. b1gted macrumors regular

    b1gted

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    #12
    Little Okie Town? Tulsa, OK. is anything but Little.

    It is the 45th largest city in the United States. :)
     
  12. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #13
    No 3G signal for our area - the closest 3G area is about an hour away...
     
  13. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #14
    No 3G here.. maybe an hour away.. but I got my 3G iPhone.. woo :D
     
  14. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #15
    I have solid 3G coverage in Bellevue, WA. However, the Pioneer Square area in Seattle, WA is completely the opposite, I can barely get any signal whatsoever.
     
  15. ieko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #16
    In the LA area the coverage can be patchy, by that I mean there will be 2-3 block segments with only EDGE coverage, but everything around that has 3G. I also notice that "the bars" change much more than it ever did with older generation networks. I often see it with 0 bars with 3G coverage, 3 bars, and sometimes full. Actually the only place I've seen it with a full 5 bars is at my house, even then though I can think of some occassions at my house where it's been below 5 and I live right next to the tower. So I'm thinking the bars may be an indication of network congeston as well.
     
  16. Zephgx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Mine says zero, but it does get 1 bar barely. Map says there's coverage all over my area O.O
     
  17. aristotle macrumors 68000

    aristotle

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
  18. Wailord thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #19
    Wow, I find it surprising how many don't get coverage... it's like buying Photoshop to make stick figures. :eek:
     
  19. kajitox macrumors 6502a

    kajitox

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #20
    I always get great internet service, though it sometimes drops my calls.
     
  20. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #21
    It's sad when your city has 3G top to bottom supposedly, and on top of that it was one of the first suburbs to have 3G in the state.

    Yet, i get about 2 bars on average, and a lot of times no bars. Same goes for someone else on these forums that lives by me.

    YET, i can go in a rural area even farther away from Chicago about 10 miles from here, and i get 5 bars.

    Figures?
     
  21. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #22
    I live in Brooklyn -- which supposedly has solid 3G coverage but I get zero bars indoors but full Edge coverage. When I step outside and away from my home wifi I generally get 4 or 5 bars of 3G. Outside is where it really matters I guess since if I'm home I can always surf the internet on my computer -- and the Edge is fine for making and receiving calls and texts.

    Same thing when I work in manhattan though. Zero 3G indoors. Most of the time I only need to utilize the internet when I'm away from my office or home anyway so this isn't a huge deal. Yet, I'm still irritated that I pay for 3G service and its not consistently available most of the time in the largest city in the country.
     
  22. Yaboze macrumors 6502a

    Yaboze

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    The Garden State
    #23
    I put 4-5 bars, but that's not entirely accurate, let me explain.

    I'm in Northern NJ, in some areas, I get 4-5 bars mostly, there are other areas, where I get nothing and it goes back to Edge. Basically, near my house I don't get 3G, but in my house, I get Wifi anyway.

    About halfway to work the 3G kicks in and stays all the way to work, but in my building, I lose the 3G signal unless I am near a window, lol. I blame the building though because even Edge is 1-2 bars at that point.

    So, it's spotty at best but at least I do get some 3G action away from home.
     
  23. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #24
    I don't have 3G at home which is fine since I have wifi, but I wish I had it at work, since I'd rather use a cell signal than use the work wifi and be blocked from gaming / media sites.

    I get 3G though in hangouts on the weekends.
     

Share This Page