How is the rMBP when running a VM parallel??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SurferMan, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. SurferMan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #1
    When I used one in Lion is was just, not sorted, just felt stuttery all around. Though I understand ML helped that a lot. I primarily use my 13 especially when traveling just b/c I prefer its size vs the 15, and will pry replace with the new 13" rMPB. I haven't really seen many post talking about how the 15 rMBP handles virtualization?

    I run OS/X and Win7 parallel sometimes, and since we all know the new tax the OS has now on ram as well as pushing that screen etc, has anybody used it with Parallels/Fusion/VirtualBox running Win7 simultaneously??
     
  2. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #2
    its obviously going to depend on how much resources you give the VM and what you're planning to run on it. other than that, your question is way too vague and pointless to answer without specifics.

    take note that windows still looks like crap in a VM on rmbp.
     
  3. playsontheleft, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012

    playsontheleft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #3
    I've found it surprisingly fast when running VMs - to the point where I've occasionally been using OS X and totally forgot that I had W7 open in the background! Don't expect anything in the way of graphics performance when running a VM but in terms of straightforward speed, allocating 8GB RAm and two cores to both OSs, I've found it to run excellently.

    edit: misread the thread - I use VMWare. Which I'd recommend, btw.
     
  4. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #4
    I use VMWare, I find it better but it runs smoothly.
     
  5. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #5
    I honestly use parallels on my 2011 air, base 11inch one and it runs perfect with no problem but i dont do nothing intense fyi :) i dont think the rmbp will have any issues.
     
  6. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #6
    I have Parallels and virtualbox, but meant moreso how does it handle a VM in general not necessarily "parallels" itself lol. Like I trade currencies and way prefer Windows platform to do so as well as for a few other things. I know ML helped alleviate a lot of the initial issues of the rMBP just like I experienced with the stutters everywhere (I can multitask heavily and that's where noticed it like crazy).

    So if multitasking in OS/X and say running metatrader or other platforms as well as different feeds.... how the rMBP handles something like that. As some have said when multitasking it still seems to stutter with virtualization.

    Guess when it comes out I'll just see what happens as don't know anyone that does what I do with a rMBP.
     
  7. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #7
    it will handle it fine. especially if your main use for windows is one dinky tiny program like metatrader.
     
  8. eron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #8
    Wait for the early September release, and compare it with Fusion. There are some bugs atm.
     
  9. joec1101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
    #9
    The VM runs just fine, but the graphics are disappointing. Retina support just isn't perfected yet in the VM - only in BootCamp and only at the native res of 2880X1800.

    Hopefully, both Fusion and Parallels will be able to perfect the Retina display sometime soon.
     
  10. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #10
    Thats one of the things that had me wondering. Not only do I trade but I do various other things in Windows as well as OS/X together. So I don't bootcamp.

    Guess I'll just have to see, the few retina owners I know, none run windows on it so can't check to see. Looks like Parallels 7 was updated to support retina, and windows has native dpi scaling, but some are saying it made it look even worse after the "update" even after playing with scaling adjustment. Hopefully they get the kinks worked out.
     
  11. DodgeV83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    #11
    FYI, it's much more efficient to run MT4 via Crossover Mac

    http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/browse/name/?app_id=2157
     
  12. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #12
    As stated before, give your VM adequate resources and it will run like butter.

    Personally i give mine 2 cores and 4GB RAM.

    I'm looking forward to Parallels 8 coming out, and the comparisons to the new VMware 5...don't know which one to buy yet :/
     
  13. Falundir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #13
    I am using this laptop for administrative work on OSX and forensics work on Bootcamp/Parallels. With 2 cores and 8gig of ram the machine worked flawlessly to conduct an incident response investigation. That says a lot about the capabilities of the machine.

    2.6/16/512
     
  14. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    VMware runs fine on my MBP.
    Dint expect to do heavy load work or you have to do bootcamp but Im loving it.
     
  15. gbit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    #15
    rmpb basic 2vm s running at the moment (windows7 in coherence mode)
    not even near any perfomance problems ;)
     
  16. Scuba-EMT macrumors regular

    Scuba-EMT

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Solomons Island, MD
    #16
    I have a maxed out rMBP running VM Parallels 7. I use the VM with Windows 7 for AutoCad, Inventor, Visio and Project. No issues what so ever!
     
  17. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17
    No issues... Runs just as good as natively!! I don't game though... This is via Parallels 7 and I dedicated 4GB RAM towards it.
     
  18. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #18
    Tried before and thought it majorily sucked, lag, sometimes settings didn't stick, delay when entering or exiting etc. They've had a ton of complaints over the years so don't know what it's like now. They responded like one time to me that their working on fixing the problems and that was it, never heard back even following up. Last time I tried was like a year ago and said forget it lol, tried setting up through Wine separately as well and couldn't get it to work right. I know others that had the same issues on their regular Macs.

    But we also test different platforms and i can have multiple charts and feeds running flipping through in Win. My 13 right now with 2gb dedicated can run that fine, but if I start doing some other work in OS/X with all that running and going back and forth you can see a loss in smoothness. Imagine with the rMBP I'd have to dedicate more ram.

    So you guys don't see any problems with display in Win? I keep seeing people say icons, text, whatever are pixelated and just not crisp for text etc. But some say it looks fine. So not sure for the discrepancy there?

    But if AutoCad and Inventor run well then that's good to know. Thanks everyone
     

Share This Page