How is there not an Apple TV remote watch app

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by hatdude, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. hatdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
  2. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    The native remote apps does that. It remote control iTunes and Apple TV.
     
  4. simonx314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #5
    I use my Apple Watch to control my Apple TV and it works great. Set your Apple TV settings to never sleep, and set your Watch to "Resume last activity" on wrist raise for best experience.
     
  5. bjdraw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #6
    I feel like it auto resumes to the remote app without changing that setting. I know I didn't change mine and the time I tested it, it brought back the remote app with ever wrist raise.
     
  6. simonx314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #7
    Awesome! I will try that when I get home. It's annoying to have to press the crown three times to just to see the time with that setting resuming to the last app instead of the clock. That would be cool if Apple would let us to change the side button to go to Remote instead of Friends.
     
  7. bjdraw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #8
    You can test it at work if you have iTunes as you can control iTunes with the Watch just like an Apple TV.
     
  8. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    And it works fantastically. Much better than the iPhone/iPad (too bright) and easy to find than the actual remote.
     
  9. Paulando macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    You can set the Apple TV to sleep. The remote app on the watch will wake it up.
     
  10. jcr918 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #11
    I can't get this to work. Any ideas ? I am connected to the same network as my AppleTV and the code comes up and I can see my Apple Watch on my list in the remote control section but on the watch it just says add device.

    Phone and watch have both been rebooted still no luck :mad:
     
  11. hatdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    #12
    Interesting. Is it a default app on the watch? It is not showing on my list of apps in the watch app on my phone. I am not wearing my watch to check.
     
  12. iSimon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #13
    Yes it is a default app and cannot be deleted either. Icon is a blue circle with a white triangle in it (plus white border).
     
  13. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #15
    It's there just ask siri to launch remote app.
     
  14. TMW macrumors newbie

    TMW

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #16
    I'm having the same issue as well.
     
  15. Goalieed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    #17
    I was able to pair one of my apple tv's, on the other one the watch shows up in the list to pair to, then it suddenly gets removed as an option.
     
  16. Glennmichael, May 2, 2015
    Last edited: May 2, 2015

    Glennmichael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #18
    How do you turn off/on subtitles with this app?

    Without this feature makes it useless over the iPhone app/Apple TV remote.
     
  17. omgitscro macrumors 6502a

    omgitscro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #19
    It simply replicates the functionality of the Apple TV remote. You access the subtitles/language/chapters menu exactly the same way you would with the included aluminum remote:
    1) While a video is playing, move up. This will bring up the video scrobbler.
    2) Hold down on the remote (to simulate a long-press of the center button).
    3) Make adjustments to the subtitle track.

    I've been doing this for a week now from Watch, and for years from the aluminum remote and iPhone.
     
  18. Banich2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #20
    I think you can only pair it with one Apple TV at a time, otherwise both TVs would do the same thing at the same time because they're on the same wifi network.
     
  19. Glennmichael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #21
    Does this work on Netflix.. Maybe I'm being stupid, but i can't get this to work at all
     
  20. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    I'm not sure it is a default app? EDIT: My mistake!

    Anyway, yes, Remote will do the job excellently. I also have Roomie which works with it and also controls my TiVo, Playbar, TV and switching inputs to PS3/4.
     
  21. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #23
    You can have it paired to as many apple tv's as you want and iTunes libraries-you select which device your controlling- it is not a blanket control for all the apple devices on a single given network.

    It's not the watch beaming a signal-it's going through your phone-much like the current 'remote' app does and will send instructions to the selected device.
     

Share This Page