How is Windows defined? Do you regard it as the default platform?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by damiengolding, May 23, 2012.

1. damiengolding, May 23, 2012
    Last edited: May 23, 2012

damiengolding macrumors newbie

Hi, I am quite new to the forums, but this is not a complete newbie question.:)
    The issue I have is Windows seems to be the default in the operating system world.

I work for a software company creating a Web browser in Japan.
    A lot of my time is taken up trying to find information, and find sites to promote it. Finding sites for Mac, iPhone, Android, etc. is so easy. Just type in "Mac software", "iPhone apps", "Android forums" and you get exactly what you want.

However for Windows, it just seems like there is nothing Windows specific. I have a lot of trouble finding communities, download sites, anything specific to Windows.

So my question in the title is asking what is Windows defined as, as from my searches, it just seems like the default.
    It honestly wastes so much of my time that I have nearly given up with the Windows version:p

What do people think?

2. Synchromesh macrumors 6502a

Synchromesh

Welcome to the forum.

Wait a second, you work for a software company and you don't know what Windows is? Remind me not to invest money with your company. :p Or maybe you're an intern? Still, how does somebody grow up in 21st century Japan without knowing what Windows is? Just curious.

There are plenty of Windows forums, just look at the MS website. Or search for "windows 7 forum" on google (no quotes).

3. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

I think you forgot to put the link in your sig, because you can't be serious. :D

4. GMTGuy macrumors newbie