How is WoW on the current MBPs? Should I wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Yixian, Sep 4, 2014.

1. Yixian macrumors 65816

I have a 2013 MBA, recently installed WoW to play with some buddies and to my disappointment, a 10 year old game gets 15-25 fps on mid-high settings in new areas.

10 year old game...

Nice.

Do the current MBPs perform? I mean the 13", I can't afford 15", the price hike is ridiculous.

Or is it about the same and should I just wait for Broadwell?

2. Merode macrumors 6502

Merode

Have you tried switching all video settings? Last time I checked I could easily pull off 50-60FPS in Durotar.

Try reducing shadows etc as much as needed. Some settings are not taxing at all so check FPS change after each. Afterall - more FPS is worth more than "eye candy", if you can even use that term in regard to WoW.

Reducing resolution is going to change a lot I guess.

3. Yixian thread starter macrumors 65816

The thing is, Blizzard have done a great job of making the game look very modern and beautiful, but if I turn all these settings down, sure it runs at 60fps, but it looks exactly like the WoW of 2008.

Why is a brand new Apple laptop only able to achieve that? Is the OS X client really that poorly optimised?

I'll have a go at turning some settings down but really, resolution and AA are key to making the game look decent, and both of those annihilate my MacBook Air, and from the looks of things, annihilate the brand new MacBook Pros too? Wtf?!

In Bootcamp this Air run Far Cry 3 at decent settings with 30fps so I feel like something must be wrong here.

4. markyr17, Sep 4, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014

markyr17 macrumors 65816

markyr17

How is WoW on the current MBPs? Should I wait?