How is your iMac handling TF2 (or any source game)?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nicklaz0r, May 19, 2012.

  1. nicklaz0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Hey guys, (I know there is a gaming board but this is specificly directed towards iMac users). How does games like TF2 run on your iMac? Can you play on ultra without any sort of lag?

    I'm going to buy the new iMac (27 model, low end) and how do you think it will perform towards source games?

    Thanks!
     
  2. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #2
    I have a 2009 iMac 27" i7 ATI 4850 and I play TF2 with everything at maximum
     
  3. nicklaz0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    What kind of FPS do you get?
     
  4. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #4
    I have no idea, how can I check it?
     
  5. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    What iMac do you have? If you have the 4670 or higher you can max TF2 easily.
     
  6. nicklaz0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Go to your steam game library.

    Right click TF2

    Properties

    Set Launch Options

    Type in: "-console"

    (without "")

    open the game

    (you should see a big black console there, just leave it as it is, don't close it)

    go into a server (preferably one that has high player counts like 20-23

    press esc

    type in the console:

    CL_SHOWFPS 1

    (when you don't want to see your FPS anymore, replace the 1 with a 0)

    ----------

    Don't have an iMac, I'm on a crappy PC.

    Getting my first Mac, which will be the new 2012 iMac 27".
     
  7. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #7
    I'll report back tomorrow with the results as I am out until Monday!
     
  8. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Then you'll be more than fine. The 6750m is more than enough for any valve source engine game. Assuming that's what will be in the next one. Which it could very well not be. But chances are it will be something better.
     
  9. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #10
    Ok, I'm back

    Playing 2Fort with 23 players with everything at maximum but AA that is set at 2x (there is no need for more) gives me 59-60 frames, so performance is pretty good
     
  10. nicklaz0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    Looks good! Thanks for your time!
     
  11. Peppery macrumors newbie

    Peppery

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #12
    I have the high end 2011 27" iMac and it handles Source games excellently. I haven't installed TF2 yet but I've been playing Diablo 3 a lot lately and it doesn't even break a sweat running it on high settings.
     
  12. Frosticus macrumors 6502a

    Frosticus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    Buttery smooth on my 2011 27" i5, same with L4D/L4D2
     
  13. nicklaz0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    It really seems that the iMac's power is very underestimated.

    I'm looking foward to switching!
     
  14. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #15
    Its rather that Source is a rather old engine and games based on it are not very demanding ;) The iMac is perfectly capable of dealing with them and also newer games, although you will quickly run into limitations of the lower-end iMac GPU when gaming at 1080p. The higher-end 6970M is a monster though and can run almost everything at ~30 fps (native res) which is enough for me.
     
  15. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #16
    You should check this website, they port games from Windows to OS X:

    http://portingteam.com/
     

Share This Page