How large is your vista footprint?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fongyuen, Nov 6, 2008.

  1. fongyuen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #1
    i recently installed vista 64 on my mbp and even though i used vlite to strip out the languages, media center, and a couple of other things resulting in a 2gb install disk, after installation, vista still took up a whopping 15gb.

    then i tried turning off system restore, deactivating hibernate, and using ccleaner, i still was not able to get it down under 10gb.

    just wondering what's the smallest footprint everyone's been able to get with vista and how did you do it. i plan to use vista primarily for playing games only. ok, thanks.
     
  2. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    i think the os itself is about 14gb, so i put a 25gb partition, i dont think thats too big at all.
     
  3. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    I don't see what the problem is? I've got a 320gb drive in my mbp and you are worried about 14gb? In comparison to the size of drives now I wouldn't worry too much about it. I've got about 100gb for vista 64 bit and i just use vista for games. The way I look at it, if you bought a last gen mbp with a 7200 rpm drive you got a 200gb drive, now you've got that much room AFTER a bootcamp vista partition.

    How often do you play games? How many do you want installed at once? I put 100 because I can't make it bigger in the future if I decide and I want all the games installed and ready to go if I feel like playing one. Right now I've got half life 2, episode 1, episode 2, lost coast, team fortress 2, fortress forever and crysis installed and have lots of room left.

    Just remember for better performance it's good to have lots of empty space on top of what you have installed. If you're worried about running out of space, get a 1tb external drive (you can even get time capsule to use it wirelessly) or put a 500gb in your machine. Hope I helped, I'm not home or I could give you actual #'s on space used.
     
  4. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #4
    may i ask what version of vista you are using?
     
  5. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    I have no idea which one of us you are talking to but I'm using vista 64 bit ultimate. I've got the 2.53ghz with 4gb ram
     
  6. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
  7. themacman112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #7
    yeah mines about 15gb. If I was you I wouldnt be that worried about 15gb, its nothing these days. I've got 10gb in porn alone
     
  8. romo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #8
    My Vista 32 is pretty big. I did a 50 gig partition on my new MBP. I don't feel like rebooting to check but I only have one game installed right now (Fallout 3) and I am left with about 22 gigs free. I kinda wish I had just gone XP and saved some space. Oh well, I have a gaming PC so I just wanted to boot camp in order to have a couple of games I can take with me.
     
  9. toebs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #9
    running vista ultimate 64
    i stripped it with vlite to fit my demands
    allso deacivated a whole lot of services, this comp seriously boots fast.

    my vista is about 4gigs on HD.
     
  10. fongyuen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #10
    yeah, that's what i'm talking about, i think i need to retry vlite and cut out more stuff.

    i'm using vista 64 ultimate. i only allotted 52 gb to my vista partition cause i wanted to keep more space for osx.

    i'm only asking because while 15gb is really not that big nowadays, i just don't like the idea of unneeded files/programs/services taking up space that i could be using for something else, and i like to maximize free space :)
     
  11. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Vista 64 Ultimate, I gave it about 80 GB (out of 250GB) which I only use for gaming. Haven't managed to even use half of that yet though (with several games installed).
     
  12. toebs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #12
    Yeah while i have enough space for the time being (if you ever do?) i just can't see why vista should take up 15gb of space.

    I can recommend vLite its really easy to use, and theres good explanation in programme to each of the services and files.
    This way you (hopefully) won't end up deleting files you actually need.

    As for services, i dont know how much they matter, but my vista is really speedy in boot and all.

    I disabled about 2/3 of the original services that start with vista.

    Heres a link that might help

    http://www.speedyvista.com/services.php

    Allso for further tweaking take a look at RMClock cpu utility (this is temperature and battery. I can get 3-3.5H of battery on my MBP late 2008 in vista ultimate 64b.)
     
  13. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #13
    Analyzing the folder structure may give you the answer :)

    The page file alone can amount to quite a bit. 4.28GB here.
     
  14. toebs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #14
    I am aware that there can be a big pagefile, and that should ofcourse be taken into consideration (if you don't disable it)

    Did you know, that if you have enough RAM, tests shows that disabling page file actually boosts battery time quite some? Something to think about huh? ;)
     
  15. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #15
    Is that because pages are not written from the standby list(s)?
     
  16. John Jacob macrumors 6502a

    John Jacob

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    #16
    I'd like to know how large my Vista footprint is. I'm running Vista Ultimate 32-bit on a 72.7 GB partition, and I have 35.5 GB free. However, I have other software installed on the partition too. How do I know how much is the space taken up by Vista?

    Also, what is yout Windows experience score? My Macbook (2.4 GHz Aluminium, 4GB RAM) gets 5.3.
     
  17. toebs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #17
    Actually i believe the powersavings come from less harddrive activity.
    Im not sure thou
     
  18. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #18
    Only 10?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. fongyuen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #19
    well, i made another copy of vista using vlite, stripping out many drivers, services, apps, that i didn't need, but adding the macpro 64 vista drivers and SP1. disabled hibernate and turned off page filing (some guy told me he did it and didn't have any problems), and i ended up with a 5gb vista footprint. :)
     
  20. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #20
    That's what I meant :)

    Modified pages of memory get put into a standby list. Periodically pages
    from the standby list are written to the page file. This is to give faster
    access to free memory pages should there be a need for them. A standby
    list page that has been written out is available for another use if needed
    because the data is safely on the disk.

    So pageouts occur in advance and before they're needed. This is a bit like
    superfetch in reverse, a sort of anticipatory paging. The cost is that the
    need for these pages may never materialize and the disk activity is wasted.
     
  21. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #21
    You won't have any problems until the day you need access to lots
    of memory. At that point you may lose data, your apps may crash,
    and other nasty things may happen. Good luck ;)
     
  22. fongyuen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #22
    haha, i know. well, fingers crossed. the guy said that even when gaming he didn't have any problems. :p
     

Share This Page