How long can mac pro stay on for?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AkuskaUK, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #1
    Hi, i will be getting a 2.26 8core 2009 Mac Pro with 6GB ram... How long can it be left on for? I mean no restarting and no turning it off... So it will run like a server?
     
  2. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #2
    The only time I have turned mine off is to upgrade hardware (memory or HDD) and only reboot it when an update requires it. Otherwise it is on 24/7.
     
  3. AkuskaUK thread starter macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #3
    So it can be left on for extended periods of time? I'm looking for only turning it off once a week, maybe less!

    Thanks for your response though!
     
  4. Schismz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #4
    I've never shut my Mac Pros down for any reason except to add/swap hardware, same for our working gear; it runs 24/7, years at a time, no problems.

    Why do you want to shut it down once a week ...?
     
  5. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #5
    I have my two running 24/7.
    They are always busy doing something (and in winter they keep my feet warm) :)

    I restart on software updates and so on.

    These are beautiful beasts of machines. :)
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    These machines are meant to be used as servers if one wanted. They are built to run 24/7 if you'd like.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    I would say forever, but at some point the sun will engulf the earth.
     
  8. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #8
    For as long as you can supply power to them. The only time I turn my 2008 MP off is if we are going to be out of the house for a few days, or if there is a storm and we may lose power. I do sleep it at night, and I restart it for some SW upgrades.... but that power switch can get mighty dusty from non-use.

    And, I do recommend a UPS for your MP. In my experience its primary purpose is not to provide power during blackouts, but to smooth out the constant brownouts. Every time a tree falls across wire, or a car knocks a power pole down in your grid the power sags and spikes. I believe it's these constant fluctuations that cause a lot of weird computer problems. I've always had a UPS on my computers, and you'd be surprised how often that little warning beep goes off that lets you know it's doing its job. I also tend to have (knock wood) very long lived and stable systems while my friends are not so lucky. I ascribe it to the UPS.

    Not cheap for a MP, but well worth the investment in my opinion.

    Luck.
     
  9. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #9
    Ages. I wouldn't like to give a specific timeframe, but theoretically, until either a component dies years down the road, or until it's no longer needed.

    Mac Pro's use ECC (Error Correcting Code) memory. This is commonly found in workstation or server system architectures (the Mac Pro falling under both) where data corruption is not tolerable. The purpose of a workstation and the way it differs from a desktop is that it must be able to perform it's designated task at any given time. No exceptions.

    On a desktop computer, that uses non-ECC RAM, errors will build up in memory. You won't know about them, but they will be there. This is often why computers need to be restarted once in a while if you're the kind of person who leaves them running for days because they "feel slow". Workstations and servers will correct there own errors.
     
  10. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #10
    Yes. How often does an update come along that requires a reboot? Fairly infrequently. Otherwise it is always on. As far as turning it off? Once to upgrade the hard drives, once to add more memory in the past year.
     
  11. jonnymo5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Depends on how clean you keep the software. As long as your software behaves properly there is no limit to how long it will run.

    At home I have hit 30 days of uptime before I restarted for an Apple update. At work we have run Pros and Minis for longer than that as build servers.
     
  12. walterwhite macrumors 6502

    walterwhite

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    South Central PA
    #12
    Like the rest of the responders... Unless I move, electrical work, cleaning, or updates that require it... my 2006 1st Gen MacPro has always been on. Runs like a Champ:D (knocking on wood)
     
  13. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    Yup my 2009 MP only goes to sleep when it isn't rendering something, being used to make me money or acting as a media streaming station.
     
  14. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #14
    We have one at work that we test (older) software on that has a current uptime of 259 days. Which surprises me, last time I looked at it, it was over 500. Which means that assuming I happened to look at the uptime just before it was rebooted, and it was EXACTLY 500 days then, it has had one reboot since November 2009. More likely it had been running since sometime in mid 2009.

    I have a friend who runs a server out of his house on server hardware that is the PC equivalent of the first-generation Mac Pro, and his last reboot was in 2008. (He runs Linux with a "hot-patch" kernel extension, so he doesn't need to reboot to apply security updates.)
     
  15. AkuskaUK thread starter macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #15
    Thank you all! Hopefully i will be able to run it continuously!
     
  16. smali macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #16
    Does the macpro use much energy just left on 24/7?

    I turn off everything, electricity bills are disgusting over here in the UK:(
     
  17. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #17
    Run mines 24/7, only turn it off in the beginning of winter or summer to clean the fans and dust that builds inside.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    Heck, I leave my MBP on all the time, and if a laptop can handle being on 24/7 then a MacPro certainly can. When I owned a MP I had no issues leaving it on for extended periods
     
  19. musique macrumors regular

    musique

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #19
    Cleaning out dust is important

    Unless you're keeping it in a "clean room" you'd be surprised at how much dust will be sucked into the machine. As those particles settle on circuit boards in the machine, heat will build up on those components. Over time the heat will cause the parts to run hotter.

    Every so often (once a year?) you might want to get inside with a can of compressed air and/or a vacuum mini-brush to clean carefully the insides.

    But, like the other posters, I leave my two MPs on 24/7, each connected to a UPS.

    Good luck.
     
  20. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #20
    You can set it to sleep at night or when you won't be using it for a few hours to conserve energy. These are workstation grade machines, so they're designed to be capable of running 24/7, especially given the nature of their use. Many people run longer tasks overnight or as background tasks.
     
  21. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #21
    My Mac Pro is on 24/7 and is working 24/7. The only time its shut down, like others, is when I swap hardware OR if I go on vacation and do not need it on (but sometimes I leave it on to use iCam).
     
  22. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #22
    No. That's not how things work and that's not the difference between ECC and non-ECC RAM. Errors do not build up in memory requiring restarts.
     
  23. jonnymo5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #23
    It is very energy efficient and will scale down when not under load. Sleep mode is even better but I haven't found it worth shutting down.
     
  24. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #24
    Hey, look on the bright side. For the last few years, solar power will be really, really cheap and effective. .....before we're burnt to a crisp, that is.
     
  25. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #25
    This tip cannot be understated, even for Windows PCs. I've run a UPS with built-in voltage regulator (most UPSs have this nowadays) ever since I started owning Macs, and have not yet experienced adverse hardware problems from brownouts. I convinced my wife to put our router and her new computer (now an iMac) on a small UPS as well, and both have run smooth, even through small blackouts.

    (now pardon me while I knock on wood...)
     

Share This Page