How long does it take to erase all content and settings?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Bathplug, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. Bathplug macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #1
    I have the circle loading icon for about an hour now is it supposed to take this long?
     
  2. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
  3. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #3
    I have a lot of data and the last time I did it, it took about 10-20 minutes.

    I had a progress bar, though.
     
  4. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #4
    My original phone used to take 2 min on 2.0, now it takes 10-15 min on 3.1.3. My 4 takes around 1 min (same for every update I've gone through)

    same here. sounds like OP's phone may be stuck in a loop. try forcing recovery mode http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1808
     
  5. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #5
  6. ylerT macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    If you chose "Erase All Content And Settings" than the Apple logo is all you're going to see.

    The phone will need to be restored through iTunes to be used again.
     
  7. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
  8. thischarmingman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #8
    how long to erase data iphone 32gb

    i went to settings, clicked "erase all data and reset phone" on my 32gb iphone 4
    running ios 5.1
    i have had the spinning wheel for about 30 minutes now. should i wait longer or do a hard reset? is it frozen or just taking its time to erase all 32gb of data?
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    Nope.
    Not since iOS 5.
    You'll get the Apple logo and then go straight to the Welcome screen where you can connect to a wireless network and restore form iCloud.
    No iTunes needed.
     
  10. rivryan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #10
    i remember back in the old days on my 3gs, if i "erased all content settings" or whatever, it would cause an apple bootloop/load forever -_- hopefully you didnt mess it up :eek:
     

Share This Page