How long to develop?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by zaca, Mar 28, 2009.

1. zaca macrumors newbie

Im new to the development scene. Only just got accepted and I want to start on some new app ideas. Only problem is that I have had no programming experience. Im willing to spent time on it (about 12 hours a week)

So how long will it take me to develop apps like: minesweeper or an excel like app or a simple 2d game? How long did it take you to develop your games/apps? How much experience did you have?

THANKS!

2. iphonedevelop18 macrumors member

I have just started making a basic tic tac toe game and I feel I have a fairly good knowledge of objective - c and I have only been programmking about a month for around 12-hours a week.

3. mccannmarc macrumors 6502

mccannmarc

Minesweeper and a simple 2d game not too long at all especially if you use a 3rd party library such as cocos, an app like excel is a monster of a program and you will have to have a VERY deep understanding of programming to even come close

4. zaca thread starter macrumors newbie

@iphonedevelop18 - good to know, thx

About the whole library thing...what libraries are good (for 2d game development) and how do I use them...any guide or tutorials or anything?

When I said excel, I was really talking about creating a table based on user inputs (they select # of rows/cols and they input static data). Sort of like those timetable apps.

Would it be better to build a few very simple apps first that I wont release, or throw myself in the deep end and try to create my 2d game off the bat (with a high chance that i will end up recoding it a few times)??

5. firewood macrumors 604

Learn to program first.

Most successful app developers have months or years of prior software development experience under their belt before tackling Objective-C, UIKit and the SDK.

imho.

6. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

MacDonaldsd