How Long Will It Last?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Secret Legend, Jun 2, 2010.

1. Secret Legend macrumors newbie

Hey guys so I recently picked up a octo or 8 core mac pro with 12 gigs of ram 2x quad 2.93 GHz Xeon with a GTX 285, and 2 cinema displays( two 30 inch). Btw I have been saving up for many years for a great system and I finally got there :) Its a great upgrade from a 2.66 GHz iMac. But anyways how long do you think my Mac Pro Will last me in years, because I spent so much money on it, I just want to know a good time to upgrade to a new machine. So basically how many years do you think I could get out of my Mac Pro and that includes like upgrading ram and Graphics.

Heres what I do with my Mac Pro:
    - Hell of a lot of encoding
    - Final Cut Studio
    - Adobe CS5
    - 4D Cinema
    - Modo
    - Lots of 3D Modeling and Rendering
    - And some games in Bootcamp here and there.

So how long do you think it will be until I should buy a whole new machine?

Any responses are greatly appreciated :) :apple::apple::apple::apple:

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Five to seven years, last year I worked on an old G4 PowerMac to edit broadcast video (albeit in SD), which was built in 2003.

3. Orange™ macrumors 6502

A while for sure!

My father is using his Power Mac G4 which according to appleserialnumberinfo.com, was built OVER ten years ago.

Sure it's slow, but it still works. :)

4. wonderspark macrumors 68040

wonderspark

Wow, nice rig!

I think it will last as long as you can stand it.

Eventually, CS6 will come out, followed by CS7, on up until CSX, hahaha... anyway, along with that will come hexacores, hexadecacores, tetraicosacores, and so on (but probably never more than tetrahexacontacore... LOL) which will leave your piddly little octacore in the dust, and you'll have to decide if it's good enough or not.