How long would a Intel core Duo iMac from 2006 work?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lofight, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #1
    How long would a iMac Intel Core Duo from 2006 with 17" 1.83 Ghz Intel Core Duo last working? if i spent everyday 2 hours on it? Does someone have experience with other mac computers??
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    23 years?. There are plenty of people who are still running really quite old macs.

    Check out this thread.
     
  3. angelodmhl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #3
    I'm still using my 1999 G3 iMac as my desktop machine, and now that another macbook of mine has gone down the *****hole, it's my only machine.
    I'm using it for office work with appleworks and office 2001, light photoshop use, surfing the web with safari, email, as a backup server, dvd player and as a bandwith sucker (lots of torrents!)
    It has a 400 MHz processor, 256 megs of Ram and a 10 Gigabyte hard drive.

    You should be just fine for two more years :p
     
  4. pseudonymph macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #4
    1.8GHz? G5s didn't come in 1.83 but Core Duos did.

    You should be fine on a G5 for another ~3 years as long as you don't want/need anything intel-specific and as long as you don't do serious gaming.
     
  5. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #5
    But i mean the core duo one.. i edited my first post
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Also by 2006, the only G5 iMac that was sold was the iSight version, which was 1.9 or 2.1GHz. And that was only briefly until the Intel versions went on sale (January?). So are you sure you're not talking about an iMac Core Duo? (EDIT, okay, I saw your edits... but the iMac Core Duo is just an iMac Core Duo. It isn't a G5. The G5 term refers specifically to the PPC processor that was in the version before that).

    But either way, I'd say a fairly long time. I have a 2.0GHz iMac G5 (from the model series that was released in mid 2005), and I see it as having at least 4-5 years of very useful life for me. :)

    I'm in the process of spending about $35 on upgrading it from 1.5GB to 2.0GB, but other than that, I haven't had to do too much to it. I might get it a larger HD at some point.

    Anyway, I'd say you can get 5 good years out of it if you don't always need the latest software, and you don't play games.
     
  7. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #7
    oh thanks noting that iMac G5 was the older one, because i always got confused, i'll edit my first-post again :p
     
  8. pseudonymph macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #8
    It's not a G5 imac, it's a Core Duo imac.

    Anyway, you'll be fine until everything goes 64-bit which probably won't be for a while after leopard. I'm in the same boat with my macbook.
     
  9. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #9
    :confused: i thought the iMac Intel core duo supported 64-bit?? doesn't it??
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    No. The only Macs that support 64-bit processing are the G5s and the Core 2 Duos (including the Xeon that's in the MP). The Core Solo / Duo chips are actually (this part is confusing) not part of the core architecture series, and they don't support 64-bit. When Intel changed their direction, in essence, they needed to start the new line of multi-core products right away, but their tech wasn't ready. The Core Solo and Duo were essentially modified holdovers from the preceding Pentium line, while the Core 2 Duo was prepared to be the first actual Core Architecture chip. That's a big part of why the C2D came chomping at the heels of the CD so quickly.
     
  11. pseudonymph macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #11
    core 2 duo, not core duo. Core duo is only 32-bit :(
     
  12. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #12
    I'm now on holiday and i'm now working on a new macbook , but i don't now what my iMac is a intel core duo or intel core 2 duo?? probably the first, but what is the difference between the two??
     
  13. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #13
    Mine is just core Duo, but i'll be able to still run leopard right??
     
  14. Tracer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #14
    Leopard will work fine on Most G4's, All G5's, and all Intel Macs.

    For those with Core Duo you just won't be able to take advantage of the 64-Bit Technology.

    Tracer
     
  15. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #15
    and when let's say 10.6 comes out, how big is the chance that it will be full 64bit ?without 32 bit feedback
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    My original Apple ][ from '77 still works like a charm. Only problem is the Y key is unresponsive, so I'll need to open the case and clean it out. Macs last forever. All the computers in my signature are still up and running and fully functional. Oh, and I have an eMate 300 that there is no room for that still works, as well. Not to mention a first gen Nano.
     
  17. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #17
    :p i loe my imac too
     
  18. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    The chance is very low because it will still have to run on the older 32-bit G4 power books.
     
  19. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #19
    because why?? if apple makes that decision who's gonna stop them, that would be stupid from apple but if they do that who's gonna stop them??
     
  20. l33r0y macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #20
    10.5 is fully 64 bit capable, top to bottom.

    If Leopard runs 32bit and 64bit side by side, there would be little benefit to remove the 32bit stuff from the OS.
     
  21. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    George W. Bush will accuse them of being terrorists unless they cease and desist and comply with the 32-bit accords of 2006 or something. That will stop them!

    Just say no to OS's of 32-bit destruction!

    Or apple could just think of 130 dollars multiplied by every other G4 and Core Duo system on the planet. That's a whole lot of systems!

    Also it would probably be easier for apple in the long run to keep the 32-bit functionality because they can just drag it over from leopard and otherwise it could take a lot of time to debug why a 32-bit app is having problems. Is it because of the 64-bit software downconverting to 32-bit... is it because you removed the 32-bit hardware compatibility... etc...
     
  22. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    Oh ... and what he said :)
     
  23. lofight thread starter macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #23
    okay............
     
  24. rpp3po macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #24
    The Macs of the last century are probably going to last forever.

    This century's lead free consumer products might die after five to ten years because of tin whiskers, which had not been a problem using tin/lead alloy solders.

    http://nepp.nasa.gov/whisker/background/index.htm
     
  25. RemyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #25
    Hey there, i have a Core Duo iMac back from 2006 too. I was wondering if there are any services out there that would replace the Core Duo chip for one of the new Core 2 Duo chips. I remember a company called Daystar i think that upgrades the old G4 chips, so im wondering if there is anyone out there that knows of such a company to do this. Thanks in advance.

    -Remy
     

Share This Page