How long you think it will take to jailbreak 3.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by gigapocket1, May 18, 2009.

  1. gigapocket1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #1
    when 3.0 come out more than likely next month. How long do u think it will take for the dev team to jailbreak it? i know their jailbreaking the betas in a day or two. but do u think they will actually be able to jailbreak the offical 3.0 just as easy? Does anyone remember how long it took the dev team to jailbreak 2.0?
     
  2. Bye Bye Baby macrumors 65816

    Bye Bye Baby

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    i(am in the)cloud
    #2
    More interested in unlocking for when I am OS.

    Jailbreaking is not as necessary for me, at least.
     
  3. gigapocket1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #3
    seriously? u must do a hardware unlock and not software? cuz if u do software u need a jailbreak to do it..
     
  4. doobi18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    There is no reason it would take any longer than the Betas, other than the fact that they'd like to package it nicely in new tools. But seriously, a few days at max - Cydia is already coded for 3.0 and all sert to go!

    //doobi18
     
  5. britboyj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #5
    This pleases me.

    If it's released before I go to the UK (unlikely at this point) I'll wait till I get back though.

    The only thinks I want to work with 3.0:

    PDAnet
    Winterboard
    Either VOIPover3g or the other one that only does Skype, Fring and Slingplayer (because I only use Skype anyway)

    That's it. Anything else I could care less about initially.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I don't think it will take long, just look how quick the betas were jailbroke (real word?)

    If apple really wanted too, they could make it virtually impossible to jailbreak, but I don't think they care too much. I think the same thing goes for the hackintoshs, they could make it much much harder to install OSX on a non-mac then what they do now.
     
  7. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    So you care. Hopefully they get everything worked out for ya man.
     
  8. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #8
    has the new itunes that will accompany 3.0 been taken into account?
     
  9. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #9
    It's not a question of how long it takes for it to be jailbroken, it's a question of how long it takes for the programs to be updated for 3.0. There's no point jailbreaking if SBsettings, statusnotifier, etc. don't work.
     
  10. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #10
    Well I'm sure AT&T cares more than Apple does because Apple sells more iphones because of unlocking and jailbreaking. With the current phones out Apple can't do anything to stop jailbreaking because the dev team uses a hardware exploit that can't be patched with software updates. They could try with the next iphone but at best it will only delay the jailbreak but it won't stop it.
     
  11. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #11
    DevTeam has said it many times before, jailbreaking iPhone is relying on a hardware exploit that Apple cannot patch.
     
  12. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #12
    Every beta has been jailbroken almost immediately. So a day, 2 days max?

    But as previously pointed out, the apps need to be updated. There are significant changes between 2.x and 3.0. Some of the core pieces that many of the jailbroken apps rely on do not work with 3.0. Jailbreaking is pointless if none of the apps work ;)
     
  13. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #13
    +1 ^^^ I'd give it two days as well, if not sooner.....:cool::cool::cool:
     
  14. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #14
    what if the hardware exploit is fixed in the new iphones? sure you could probably still jailbreak iphone 3Gs but the new ones may take some time.
     
  15. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #15
    If Apple releases new iPhone hardware, then of course it's a different story, which is like comparing first gen and 3G baseband unlock.

    But the question is, will current hardware be jailbroken.
     
  16. britboyj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #16
    I do care, but that's just what I'm most concerned with. ;)
     
  17. MWillis561 macrumors member

    MWillis561

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #17
    3.0 has already been jailbroken. I've been using a jailbroken 3.0 beta 5 since the morning after it came out. Right now Cydia has been updated to work with 3.0 so that's not going to be a problem at all. Alot of jailbroken programs also work. The ones that we are having problems with right now are ones that are based on Mobile Substrate. There are a fews bugs with Mobile Substrate that are being worked out right now. So the most notable apps that aren't working are Winterboard, backgrounder, SBsettings. They are working on a patch though and it should be expected some time this week.

    So to answer the question, as soon as 3.0 is released it will be jailbroken and hopefully most developers will have already converted their apps over to 3.0 (I am majority are working on it or have already converted it over). Here is a link to a thread that will keep you updated on the jailbreaking scene for 3.0.

    http://www.modmyi.com/forums/genera...eta-all-inclusive-jailbroken-awesomeness.html
     
  18. zander271 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #18
    What about yellowsnow working? I realize that 3.0 will prob update the baseband and break it. Is this being worked on?
     
  19. MWillis561 macrumors member

    MWillis561

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #19
    Here is the "official" reply from the dev team in regards to 3.0 on jailbreaking and yellowsnow.



    Apple just released the fifth beta of their 3.0 OS. Back when 2.0 was still in beta, they released about nine beta firmwares, so it’s reasonable to assume we’re about half way through the 3.0 beta process.

    As should be expected, the modern devteam jailbreak process is still valid. The picture below is 3.0beta5 jailbroken on an iPhone 3G. As we’ve said in previous posts, nothing other than a hardware respin can prevent our jailbreak from working on all exisiting iPhone and iPod Touches. They’ve chased our jailbreak so far down in the chain of trust, the only way they can fix it is in hardware.

    jailbroken 3.0beta5

    Because there are so many beta releases, we couldn’t possible refine, test, and release both PwnageTool and QuickPwn for each of them. That’s why we’re waiting until the final release.

    But this is a good time to remind everyone. If you care about the yellowsn0w unlock, don’t go anywhere near the beta releases. You will lose your unlock, possibly forever.


    So... once the final version of 3.0 is released they will release the "official" PwnageTool and you will then be able to upgrade to 3.0 without updating the baseband. It usually takes them 24-48 hours to get the release finalized.

    PwnageTool is what you will need to use in order to update to 3.0. QuickPwn will not work for people that still need to use yellowsnow.
     
  20. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #20
    There really is no way of knowing this because the final version of 3.0 has yet to be released...
     
  21. zander271 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #21
    Y ai kinda figured to stay away from the beta's. My 3g I got lunky on when I bought it. Since I travel abroad alot I need it unlocked.

    Wow very cool! Looks like they found a way to make the baseband 2.28 work with 3.0 then?

    I'm a windows user, If i can't use Pwn how will I make a custom ipsw so as to keep my baseband.
     

Share This Page