How many 4k monitors can MBPr run?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 2ms, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. 2ms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    #1
    I have a mid-2012 15" MBPr with Thunderbolt 1 and the standard Nvidia GT 650M graphics.

    Can anyone tell me how many monitors this laptop can run? In particular, would it be possible to run more than a single 4K monitor with it?
     
  2. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
  3. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #3
    And to elaborate a bit on the completely correct answer above, Thunderbolt 1 means DisplayPort 1.1a, which means too little bandwidth for 4K resolutions.
     
  4. Dean Yu macrumors regular

    Dean Yu

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #4
    Actually ONLY THE 2015 Machines (MBA, RMBP13, RMBP15, iMAC, etc) officially support 4K output except the Mac Pro 2013. The number of display(s) being outputted on is 1 for MBA, 2 for MBP(13 and 15)and iMac and 3 for Mac Pro. The MBP15 with Radeon R9 M370X even support 5k using both thunderbolt ports.
     
  5. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #5
    So my 4k monitor is lying to me about my mid 2014 MBP outputting 4k?
     
  6. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #6
    He's wrong but probably confused with refresh rates. Only the 2015 models support 4k monitor at 60 Hz, older models support 4k at 30 Hz. Generally display output is considered "officially" supported when the GPU can render the display at 60 Hz since 30 Hz is generally not ideal (it's not usually very usable except for viewing documents).
     
  7. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #7
    Wrong again. Late 2013 and newer support 4k resolution at 60Hz. HDMI is limited to 30Hz but Displayport gives you 60Hz.
     
  8. RoboWarriorSr, Mar 12, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2016

    RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #8
    Umm what the Iris 5100 does not support 4K at 60 hertz, the 5200 Iris Pro supports 4K at 60 Hertz under windows only (since I don't have that machine not sure if Apple added support for it later but initially there wasn't any). Same for 2014 since they weren't changed. The 15" has 750m but support was only under windows unless El Capitan added additionally drivers.
     
  9. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #9
    I don't know about Iris Pro, I am talking about the 15" with the GT750M.
     
  10. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #10
    That's only one model, 2013 and 2014 MBP 13" and 15" with integrated graphics and MBA don't. Also certain iMac models may fall under this list depending on the graphic card option chosen at purchase (don't know what graphic cards they could utilized, but for certain anything over 780m support 4k at 60 Hz).
     
  11. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #11
    Can confirm. I have a 15" late 2013 rMBP with 750M. I'm running a 4k at 60hz in addition to the built-in screen.
     
  12. monstruo macrumors regular

    monstruo

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #12
    Running 4K at 60hz with Late 2013 rmbp, Intel Iris Pro.
     
  13. 2ms thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    #13
    This is a little of topic, but are you saying that a 2014 5k iMac cannot run an 4k second monitor, but that any 2015 5k iMac can? Thanks for the info.
     
  14. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #14
    No the 5 k iMacs can all run a 4K second screen.
     
  15. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #15
    5K iMac can run a 5K display, wouldn't make much sense if it couldn't run a 4k display.
     
  16. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #16
    - He means externally and in addition to the 5K internal it's already running. Whole different ballgame.
    But it can, of course, run 4K externally. Even 5K with dual DP cables.
     
  17. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #17
    Well yeah, wouldn't make much sense to have a GPU that can only run the 5K internal and not an external 4K. At that point, one is only limited by bandwidth which I believe the max on the iMac is 1 external 4K at 60 Hz.
     

Share This Page