How many cores to configure on Parallels 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by kgallag1, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. kgallag1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Dorval, Quebec
    #1
    Hi, all

    I have one of the newer model 2.3GHz quad core 17" macbook pros. Given that it supports hyperthreading, is it possible to configure, say, 4 "cores" for Parallels? I think this was asked once a while back, but I didn't see the thread, so couldn't remember if it was asked for parallels 6+

    Ideally, I would like to assign 3-4 cores to my windows VM, if I have any CPU intensive tasks to run, and would like, when not, to be able to run 2-3 VMs, each with 2 cores. Is this possible with a core i7 hyperthreading CPU?
     
  2. lugesm macrumors 6502a

    lugesm

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #2
    I am running Parallels 7 on my Core i7 iMac.

    I have two CPU's (4 cores) assigned along with 2GB memory. It appears to work well, and it is FAST.

    Would like to read about other configurations and results. Anyone ?
     
  3. kgallag1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Dorval, Quebec
    #3
    parallels and cores

    At the moment, I'm running steady on 3 assigned cores with 1 gig of video RAM and 4 gigs of RAM. So far, working really well. I ran 3dmark06 and hit about 7500 points (native Bootcamp is around 10000, so that's pretty solid).

    I probably won't shift it to more than 3 cores (doubt I'll ever need that much).

    I'm using a 2011 quad core 17" macbook pro
     
  4. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #4
    I run it with 1 core, 1GB of RAM on a new MBA i7. It runs very fast and very smooth. Windows 7 32 bit.
     

Share This Page