How many GBs of data have you used?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by andrewwg94, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. andrewwg94 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #1
    A week after I bought my iPhone, a power surge hit my modem and router. Luckily I just tethered my iPhone to my laptop. Hopefully at&t won't find out. I know I was using ALOT, i.e. i was playing ps3 cod4 online via my 3g. :D
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Not sure what my personal use has to do with you but I'm at less than 4 gb.
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    He wants you to tell him it's going to be okay, jessica. :)

    OP, no one has been charged for tethering that we know. At least no one has reported it on here. If they had, you can be sure there'd be a thread about it.
     
  4. jason221 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #4
    How did you manage that? I'd imagine it would be pretty laggy.
     
  5. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #5
    How do you use your iPhone on your ps3??

    I'm sure that would be a lot of data right there?
     
  6. OneMike macrumors 601

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #6
    From looking this up before I think it was around 40-50MB per hour of play. A lot less then I thought.
     
  7. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  8. uiop. macrumors 68020

    uiop.

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #8
    6.4GB received...
    And yes I tether on occasion.
     
  9. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
    #9
    Sent. 577 mb.

    Received. 15.3 GB.

    I have never tethered.
     
  10. andrewwg94 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #10
    I had my iPhone tethering to my laptop via usb. i had my laptop connected to my ps3 via a cat5 crossover ethernet cable. then using xp i bridged the two connections. i got 2-3 bar connection in cod4 depending on the host. the only problem with 3g is the latency, 300+ ms. the speed (1.5mbps+) is fine.
     
  11. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #11
    3 weeks with my new 3gs and I've gone through 300mb of data with no tethering....

    My 2G was 16 months old and had 2.5gb recieved
     
  12. Looon macrumors 6502a

    Looon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #12
    I don't think i've used a gig worth of data in the entire 2 years I've owned my phone. Of course on edge it would be pretty hard to.

    To be fair edge isn't terribly slow but I don't watch videos or anything on it just surf the net occasionally.
     

Share This Page