How many monitors can I run?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jonbig08, Jun 22, 2008.

  1. jonbig08 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #1
    I recently purchased a mac pro with a 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel
    Xeon processor, 4 GB in memory, a TI Radeon X1900 XT
    512MB graphics card, 250GB hard drive with a 23 inch cinema display. Whew now thats out of the way. I decided I don't want the big display anymore, but I would rather have 2 or 3 monitors each acting independently...meaning I can see 3 different things on each one. Is this possible with my setup? If so how? Can I buy any brand of smaller monitors? I want to sell the big display and with that money buy the other 3, or close to it. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #2
    Get an extra graphics card and you can have 4 monitors (there are two outputs on each card that you can buy through Apple). This might help, too.
     
  3. jonbig08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #3

    Can I run 2 on the card that I have? 2 may be enough.
     
  4. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #4
    I'm pretty sure it has two DVI outputs, so yes. Just look on the back.
     
  5. jonbig08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #5
    I will check it out, what will display on the monitors (I only have 1 now)? Will it be like 1 big monitor, or do I drag things with the mouse into the other monitor or?? How does that work?
     
  6. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #6
    No offense but if you don't know the common use cases for having multiple monitors why did you buy a mac pro?

    I'm not trying to be mean I just wonder if an iMac would have been enough for you.
     
  7. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    It's like one big monitor. Your mouse (and anything you drag) moves seamlessly between the two. The one drawback to two monitors on a Mac is that the Menu bar only appears on one of them (you can choose which in the Displays area of the System Preferences, after you've got 2+ monitors hooked up).
     
  8. jonbig08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #8

    I see, that makes sense. Sounds like this will work well for me. Thanks a lot for your help.

    I didn't set out to buy a mac-pro, a member of my family just bought it and they happened to need money. I know for a fact that was hardly ever used. Anyways I looked over their invoice from the apple store and I paid around 1/5th what they paid. I could sell the thing and make a couple G's so I thought why not? I just hapened t start day trading so it worked out. Now I just need to sell the display.
     

Share This Page