How many monitors iMac's DisplayPort can handle?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by HairyPotter, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. HairyPotter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    I see that Apple computers are now supporting DisplayPort. As far as I know, DisplayPort can handle multiple monitors (a sort of USB stuff for video). My question is: how many monitors can I connect to an iMac? Start on the principle that a 20" model can output 1920x1080 pixels and the 27" can output 2560x1440 pixels what resolution will I have on the other monitors? The same? less? How it works?

    thanks for the help.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It supports one display with maximum resolution of 2560x1600. If you want to connect more than one, you need to buy an USB dongle or Matrox box
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    You can have up to the native resolution of your second monitor with the miniDisplayPort, but you have to use the dual link adapter if it is anything over 1920x1200. If you want to mirror displays, you will get the max resolution of whichever display has the lower resolution, but that isn't normally the option you use with an extra display.
     
  4. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    While the DisplayPort specification permits daisy-chaining DP monitors... I don't think the Macs support it?

    I don't even know if there are even any monitors out there that provide you the ability to do it in the first place - heh.

    If there are such monitors though, someone should give it a try ;)
     
  5. HairyPotter thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #5
    I was happy when I saw the DisplayPort on the iMac, because I dream of having at least a third monitor.

    Using the solution of a third monitor thru USB, I wouldn't try that, because the bandwidth required to transmit 1920x1080 @ 30fps, would require 60% of the USB bus and that will make the system slow as hell.

    I suppose once the Mac has a DisplayPort it is now a matter of software, driver. One can develop a driver to daisy chain multiple monitors at full or near full resolution. Am I right?

    I wonder if this works on a Mac

    video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjRyZZ_R6lY

    product
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Displays/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&cs=19&sku=330-9118

    another one here (and this is Mac compatible)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812607008

    EDIT: the products I mentioned, in fact, "slices" the maximum output of a DisplayPort in 3 images of 1280x1024, one for each monitor... all 3 monitors are seen as one monitor.... that was not what I am looking for... I want more pixels, not to split the ones I have in multiple monitors.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    There is Matrox DualHead2Go that gives you two 1920x1200 monitors. There is also TripleHead which gives you three 1680x1050

    The issue with daisy chaining is that manufacturers have not adopted it as of yet. When they add it to their displays, then it should work
     
  7. HairyPotter thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #7
    how can this thing transform one VGA image input in two new DVI outputs?
    I am sure it works like the other one I mention... it splits the input into two images with less quality.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    I don't know, maybe VGA can deliver better resolution than single-link DVI can. The Matrox box is an external GPU so it can convert the signal to be digital.
     
  9. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  10. edjrwinnt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Location:
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    #10
    I can connect a new 27" LED MAC monitor when it comes out this month to a late 2009 27" IMAC via displayport, right? This is kind of a stupid question but I want to be sure before I spend $1,000.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Yes, just use the MiniDP cable that is supplied with the 27" ACD
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    I'm pretty sure the iMac is taller than the 27" display [and since they are not height adjustable], I would suggest getting 2 mounting arms to make them level or use a block of wood.
     
  13. edjrwinnt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Location:
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    #13
    Thank you very much for the feedback. I did read on the "coming soon" 27" LED monitor page on Apple's site that it would work with my 27" Imac. I got burned buying a $30 adapter for my 2007 Mac Mini that I thought would allow me to connect it to my late 2009 IMac, but it didn't work so it made me a little paranoid.

    The next thing is that I want to buy a new Mac Mini Server and I was hoping there would be a 2nd input on the new 27" LED monitor, but it doesn't look like that's the case. I know I can remote control it from another MAC, but I would like the MAC Mini to be able to use the 27" LED monitor to get it setup first. I guess it's not that big of a deal though.

    I didn't think about the height adjustment to make both monitors at the same level. My biggest concern was how much nicer and different the LED monitor may look next to my 2009 IMAC.
     

Share This Page