How many of you run anti-virus software?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by muldul, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. muldul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #1
    Having just switched from windows, i feel a little uneasy about not having any anti-virus software, i was wondering how many of you have or don't have it even though OS X is meant to be virus free?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I don't and never have

    You will probably find that most on this board do not

    If you feel the need, then there is ClamXav

    Avoid Norton like the plague


    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    I don't, never have, and never will. You don't need it. Welcome to safety.
     
  4. munson macrumors 6502

    munson

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I had virus protection once because I needed it to get on to the school's internet. As soon as possible I got rid of it. :D
     
  5. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #5
    Not here. I think AVP should stand for Aliens Versus Predators, not Anti Virus Protection.:)
     
  6. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #6
    Been using a Mac for 20 years. Never used anti-virus. Never had a problem.
     
  7. TopGear macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Location:
    .––. .–. .– ––. ..– .
    #7
    Never. None. At least not since the days of System 8. Now, no antivirus software at all. No worries, no problems...
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Typically that is the only reason you will find it on a Mac, unless it is a new switcher who can't let go

    The only real issue is passing along something to a Windows user, and even that is minimal if you are paying attention

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I have ClamXAV on my MB, but mostly because I work with 99% Windows computer (I'm the only one I know on Mac.) So, I will do a scan every once in a while to ensure that I'm not passing anything along.
     
  10. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #10
    Should I rent AVP2?
     
  11. SailorTom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #11
    I do! I use sophos, but thats only because I can get it free from my uni. In all honesty you don't need it but it feels good to know that your not passing stuff on to windows users.
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    In all honesty, I'd feel the opposite about doing that.
     
  13. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #13
    The only time you really need it, is if your downloading material, and will be passing them on to Windows users. Its more a courtesy to other users. Its like washing your hands after you sneeze on them, but before you shake hands with another person. Your not doing this for your safety, your doing to so you do not compromise another's machine with a virus you passed along.

    ClamAV is great for this. Just bring it up, update the definitions, and scan that one file.
     
  14. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #14
    Well the FUD mongers have won and I now use NetBarrier; AV and firewall.:eek:
     
  15. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #15
    Just be cautious about what you give your admin password to for installs, and you'll be alright. Unlike Windows, which has a user SYSTEM which is above ADMIN, and can be infected, OSX can't mess with your main system files until YOU permit it. Be aware, and enjoy it.
     
  16. cycocelica macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
  17. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #17
    You absolutely don't need any virus protection, on your mac.
    Most of the programs like the one Norton markets, for the mac. Will do more harm than good to your system.

    If by chance you do download a file or program, that does have a secrete surprise. Don't worry, about sharing it with windows users. As their anti virus program will pick up on it.
     
  18. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    I run virus software for several reasons:

    1. I get the software free.
    2. I deal with a lot of downloaded files.
    3. I boot into windows periodically, and don't want anything to bleed over.
    4. Most other computers I communicate with are windows boxes and you don't know where they have been.
    5. Did I mention it is free?
    :rolleyes:
     
  19. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #19
    Too bad this wasnt made into a poll.
    My reply would be unequivocally No.
     
  20. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    1. It's not free as it wastes your computer's resources.
    2. So what? Just don't give any shady files your admin password.
    3. yeah... that doesn't happen you can't write to a bootcamp partition from OSX, but nice try.
    4. That in no way should matter to you, unless you're worried you will give them a virus.

    the only time you need antivirus on a Mac is when you boot it into Windows.
     
  21. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #21
    Jimmy speaks the truth here

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  22. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    That's what's great about Clam XAV, it only runs when you want it to, so it doesn't waste any resources.
     
  23. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #23
    It does not waste resources since I control when it is running. :cool:

    What do you mean you can not write to a bootcamp partition? I can read and write to mine. My windows hd is a mounted disk at all times just like my macintosh hd.

    edit: I run parallels, but it boots from a bootcamp partition. Either way it is still a mounted drive at all times.
     
  24. kjs862 macrumors 65816

    kjs862

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    #24
    I don't run any. I don't even feel like I need to. Computer runs as good as it did when I bought it five years ago.
     
  25. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    oh I forgot about XP running on FAT32. I assume that's what you have your Windows partition formatted to.

    For some reason when I read your post I assumed you were running some always running antivirus (like on windows), Not Clam X AV, which I'm sure can be useful in a Windows environment.
     

Share This Page