how many ram slots are used as standard?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chandler99, Jul 7, 2009.

1. chandler99 macrumors regular

Hi all,

i'm looking to upgrade my ram with some memory from crucial and was just wondering if both slots are used for the standard 2 gb my uMBP came with?

also, is it worth going to 4 gb?

2. cababah macrumors 68000

Both slots are used, yes. And yes, it is worth it since it is so affordable and good to future-proof the computer.

3. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak

More RAM is only helpful if you have used up all the existing RAM. You don't need more than 2GB if you only use the internet, check email, and play games.

4. chandler99 thread starter macrumors regular

i'm a graphic animator so use cs4 and cinema4d amongst others...

5. iAlexG macrumors 6502

iAlexG

I have 4GB and originally I wanted to upgrade to 8GB I asked around and got downloaded Menu Meters to see how much Ram i usually use and I really don't need to upgrade. Maybe you don't either.

6. chandler99 thread starter macrumors regular

well, i'm currently running the standard 2gb and i think it might he when rendering in after effects and c4d... or am i wrong??;)

7. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

MacMini2009

I suggest getting 4GB of RAM, and in the future when 8GB of RAM is cheaper, get it.

8. chandler99 thread starter macrumors regular

here's a though.. anyone know if the uMBP and alu iMac use the same ram type?

9. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

All current Apples use PC8500 DDR3 SDRAM. (dual channel, I believe)

10. chandler99 thread starter macrumors regular

hmmm.. i just ran the crucial memory scanner app and it says my iMac has ddr2..

my iMac spec is 2.0Ghz, 1Gb ram, 128mb GFx

11. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

That's because yours isn't a current iMac.